Skip to content

Haiku Paintings Series Resumes

June 21, 2010

“Haiku 67″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

These paintings wanted to become part of my ongoing Haiku series. After the last painting session when I had taken a progress photo, I kept doing little things to each one, walking away to do something else in the house or the garden, and then going back out into the studio to work on them again. I couldn’t stay away. I even washed my hands and tools several times, thinking I was quitting, only to find myself out there again.

It was then that I realized I need to have painting projects going at all times. They are what get me out to the studio, excited about what’s going to happen next. It’s like reading a good book with a cliff-hanger at the end of each chapter.

And I’m sad that I have only nine of these panels at the moment. I have to order more soon.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:03 pm

    Golden earth with dark streams, a black chasm and some green vegetation. I love it. You were doing your Haiku series when I first discovered your blog, am very interested that you have resumed. Yes do order some more panels!

  2. June 21, 2010 9:11 pm

    I love watching this haiku series develop right before my eyes and anything that will bring you back to you painting studio is worth it. I started my workshop with about 20 students…Forensic Fiber Art CSI style. I walked them through the gallery and gave a short artist talk to share my drawing with a needle and thread. We then worked with fingerprints and Pebeo Seta transparent colors and sun prints with found objects. I am exhausted but all in all we had a glorious day. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • June 22, 2010 10:28 pm

      Mary Helen, that sounds positively energizing. A glorious day for sure! I’m happy for you.

      I always learn so much from students and enjoy those times.

  3. June 21, 2010 9:28 pm

    Martha, I can so relate to your need to have several painting projects going on at once! My projects, like yours and probably those of most artists, need to overlap. Otherwise, there’s a feeling of “Oh. OK. Now what?” And there’s that empty space between projects that just feels wrong.

    I really like your Haiku pieces a lot. This one feels ancient, like the passage of time being recorded. Very beautiful work.

    • June 22, 2010 10:30 pm

      Thanks so much Stephanie! I appreciate that.

      You are so right about keeping the momentum going. I miss my critique/support group and our “show and tell” that we had once a month. That in itself kept us moving forward.

  4. Patte permalink
    June 22, 2010 12:32 pm

    Love the new panels and watching you work through the layers – they are fantastic! I know you are working on cradled panels. Maybe you have addressed this before but what do you do with the edges? Do you let the layers drip over? Paint over them?

    • June 22, 2010 10:42 pm

      Thanks Patte. Yes, I think there are some comments and responses about this a couple of posts ago, when I started the new panels.

      The short answer is that I try to keep the sides reasonably cleaned off while I’m working on them, but I don’t have a heart attack if I discover a drip or two. Then at the end I paint them a solid color, which varies from black to gray to a coordinating color. I’m starting to like black best.

      Thanks for commenting! I hope to hear from you again.

  5. Kai permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:21 am

    Dear Martha,

    I’ve been working in encaustic and these Haiku’s look like
    wax, amazing and full of depth.

    Really enjoy reading about your process and seeing the
    work as it progresses.

    Thank you.

    • June 23, 2010 12:17 pm

      Thank you so much for commenting, Kai! I positively love encaustics and should be working in those instead. It’s a fun challenge to try to approach the same effects with acrylics. It never can be the same, but I love when they have an encaustic feel.

      Encaustics have called and called to me. I know it would involve a re-tooling of my whole studio, so I keep trying to ignore the tugs.

  6. June 27, 2010 9:07 am

    I totally identify with the repeated hand-washing and returning soon after. The good book analogy works for me.
    And Ihave to keep lots of lotion handy. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

