Skip to content

Saturday Finds

June 5, 2010

Back by popular demand is my regular Saturday Finds feature, where I share fun and interesting things that I come across throughout the week that I think you might enjoy.

Things got a little hectic as I settled into my new home and studio, so I let Saturday Finds fall by the wayside for a while. So here goes again! I’m not sure I can keep these up every single week, but I promise to do them as often as possible.

Intaglio Printmaking

Today I was curious about printmaking videos in general, and intaglio in particular. I spent several years in a printmaking studio at the local community college, just totally enthralled with the various processes. I never could justify buying my own etching press, so I trudged back and forth week after week.

But when I would try to explain this art form and my enthusiasm about it to anyone who hadn’t seen it first hand, I would lose my audience somewhere between “acid bath” and “ink and wipe.”

In fact, today I did find several excellent videos. This one isn’t too long, but explains the intaglio process succinctly and well. Then after you watch, imagine me doing this two days a week, hours at a stretch, off and on for five years. Oh, and my fingernails, face and clothes always looked like I had crawled out from under a car. I never could work in those gloves!

If you’d like to see more demos, there are others available to watch in the “related videos” column.

Kiki Smith

I am a big fan of Kiki Smith and could listen to her all day. Here is a beautiful few moments with her on video. Listen carefully at the end to what she says about being an artist. I was very touched and inspired by it.

And finally . . .

Seeking Gallery Representation? Read This First

Jason Horejs, owner of Xanadu Gallery in Scottsdale, Arizona, has listed on his website

The Six Most Common Mistakes Artists Make When Approaching Galleries for Representation

I found this piece of advice very informative. It’s always good to hear a gallerist’s point of view, especially those who are sincerely trying to help artists.

Have a creative weekend.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 6:53 pm

    I have just received a small printing press that will need some repair work but I am thrilled to be able to experiment with some printing processes and some soft cut safety cut materials. I will contact my friend about using non-toxic inks instead of the oils…with lupus these are detrimental to my body’s systems and the plastic gloves protect one from mineral contaminations…something that many overlook and harm their life’s length. I am saving the advice from Xanadu …common mistakes artists often make… good resource information. Have a wonderful weekend and I am envious of your piece of earthly heaven…your beautiful garden. Imagine and Live in peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • June 6, 2010 3:15 am

      Oh, Mary Helen! You are so lucky to have a press. Many things can be run through an etching press, even monotypes would have so many possibilities. I am a big believer in safety for the artist and the environment when working with art materials. There are plenty of alternatives to the dirty traditional ways of doing things. You could spend years experimenting with just those.

      Check out this site. I think it’s been much expanded since I last saw it!

      http://www.nontoxicprint.com/

      I don’t want to think about the chemicals that have been absorbed through my fingers over the years. We were pretty cavalier about it a long time ago.

      I wish I could send you some fresh veggies! They’re not in yet, but the plants look amazing.

  2. June 5, 2010 7:16 pm

    You’re wonderful, Martha!
    Thanks for all the juicy information…speaking of juicy, how are those tomatoes? 🙂

    • June 6, 2010 3:17 am

      Glad you enjoyed this, DJ! I have green tomatoes all over the place!! We planted “too many” but how many is that? We will share some, freeze a few, and can more if need be.

      The cucumbers are trying to take over too. I’ve had to put them in their place a couple of times already. Talked to them pretty sternly about staying off my tomatoes. 🙂

  3. Jeannie permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:58 pm

    Thanks so much for the links. I did not know about Kiki Smith and I am so grateful for you pointing the way to her site. Wow! Have a great week.

    • June 7, 2010 5:39 pm

      Thank you for that, Jeannie! I hope you can find additional information on Kiki Smith and her work. She is amazing. I especially recommend the PBS Art21 segment that was done on her.

  4. June 23, 2010 5:43 pm

    Hi Martha, I wanted to let you know that I just ordered Jason Horejs book. It looks like an excellent resource. Thank you for posting the link.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

