Skip to content

Marsh Paintings

June 3, 2010

“Marsh in Blues” – Acrylic on Canvas, 4 x 4″


“Marsh Early Morning” – Acrylic on Canvas, 4 x 4″


“Marsh, Evening” – Acrylic on Canvas, 4 x 4″

I love marsh scenes, and I love painting them. I have a few that are more literal and realistic than these, but an abstract interpretation appeals to me more.

The marshes are abundant with life that is connected, interdependent, and supports all other life in crucial ways. Every day I say a silent prayer for our treasured wetlands along the Gulf Coast, and for the people who are dependent on them for their very survival.

The blue painting at the top is sold, but the others are still available in my Etsy shop.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 5:27 pm

    These are stunning Martha. I find myself wandering into each painting and staying awhile.

  2. June 3, 2010 5:35 pm

    Thank you, Terrill! I’d like to do more of these, maybe larger.

  3. Sandra permalink
    June 3, 2010 7:14 pm

    Larger would be even more stunning. Especially love the moody darks of Marsh Evening. Feel so concerned for the wetlands menaced by the dreadful oil spill (and not impressed at all with BP – always boycott them for fuel) – I hope you are not close to that area?

    • June 4, 2010 6:06 am

      Well, Sandra – we are close, but not near the coast. Still, I think it’s going to affect the overall ecosystem more than we can imagine right now. I try to stay positive, but it’s difficult to say the least.

      Thanks for the comment on the paintings. I do look at these and wonder if I can do something similar on a large scale. Maybe I need to just get out there and try!

  4. Nancy permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:15 pm

    these remind me of james gahagen’s work… very evocative space you create for the viewer… like Terrill, I linger, loathe to leave. larger would be impressive. why not go for it…

    • June 4, 2010 6:12 am

      Nancy, I had to refresh my memory about James Gahagan. I have always been a great admirer of Hans Hofmann and see that Gahagan worked with him. I love his paintings and unabashed color! Thanks for mentioning him.

      I’m happy you had such a positive response to these little paintings. Paint them larger? All I need is a little encouragement. But for me, larger doesn’t just mean 24 inches. It means 48 plus! To do that, one would have to really get physical. Huge brushes, big squeegees, some rollers . . . yeah!!!

      • Nancy permalink
        June 7, 2010 4:34 pm

        a creative workout, so to speak! sounds very enticing…

      • June 7, 2010 5:40 pm

        Yes it does, Nancy. I’m still thinking about it. Just thinking so far! 😉

  5. June 4, 2010 2:33 am

    MMMmmmMMmmmm….salivate….swallow….drool…mmmmmm…

    ’nuff said.

    • June 4, 2010 6:14 am

      Thank you, DJ! These are calorie free, you know!

      • June 4, 2010 5:50 pm

        lol~ …apparently, I bring out the comedienne in you, kid~
        Lovely work, really.

  6. kriketbroadhurst permalink
    June 4, 2010 8:15 am

    lovely and soft images, the oil spill is so tragic and frightening an such a concern.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

