Skip to content

Pears And Paintings

June 2, 2010


This pear was photographed with two of my paintings, one supporting it and the other as a backdrop. I’ve been shooting pears for the past two days because I love their shape, rich color, and surface textures.

The ones below were photographed beside a window with strong morning light, on a patchwork quilt of antique upholstery fabrics.

While I still have these pears around, maybe I’ll do some pear paintings.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Valerie Kamikubo permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:31 pm

    Really rich and lovely photos Martha!

  2. June 2, 2010 5:53 pm

    MAYBE?????
    Huh?
    Martha, you just GOTTA….

  3. June 2, 2010 7:21 pm

    I know, DJ. I really, really want to!!

  4. June 2, 2010 9:27 pm

    just like an artist ! … find every which way possible to express your pleasure in colour, design and fruit before eating …

    lovely expressions with this pear … >>> Gina

    • June 3, 2010 9:53 am

      So true, Gina. Every day I think of my mother and smile to myself. She was an artist and very much in tune with nature. She would pick up (and keep!) every interesting rock, stick, bird’s nest, bird’s eggs, you name it. My sister and I are very much the same, and have passed that “eye” down to our kids and grandkids.

  5. June 3, 2010 10:29 am

    What a wonderful composition and wonderful light! Lovely!

    • June 4, 2010 6:04 am

      Thank you, Eva. I truly want to learn more about photography. I am starting to think it’s just like everything else. Just do it and make mistakes and discoveries along the way. Then when all else fails, read the instructions! At this point it’s just luck.

  6. June 4, 2010 2:38 am

    Martha, I had to return to see that pink & orange behind that green pear … good grief…so, you’re gonna paint that, right ? Or, at least enlarge the photo and hang that puppy in your home…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

