Skip to content

Snapshots of My World

June 1, 2010

We still have family here from the Memorial Day weekend, but I’ve been taking pictures as always.

This pear was photographed today in my office window. We have old windows and new windows. This is one of the old ones. Eventually we’ll replace all of those with new updated versions like we have in most of the house. But even though these vintage windows don’t work all that well, I still love the many crusty coats of paint and the old glass.

This is one view from my kitchen table, where I usually sit with my laptop. This shelf is where we keep all our favorite mugs and teacups.

And today I took more pictures of our garden. The first one is of our tomato plants taken just a week ago and then underneath that is the one taken today. We’ve had some wonderful soaking rains.

This is one view of the rest of our garden. The green beans are climbing nicely. We have two yellow squash plants shown here with the massive leaves. There are only two just because I’m the only one who loves yellow squash. This should be plenty for us. On the right are cucumbers with a little teepee for them to climb.

This little garden project has been a wonderful creative outlet for me. One can do only so many paintings and collages.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 3:54 pm

    Im jealous of your garden :3 I tried the topsy turvy “magical” tomato growing thing and managed to kill it in 4 days flat.
    But these inspire me to ret my green thumb out again.

    • June 2, 2010 7:38 am

      Chelsea, thanks so much for visiting! Please don’t give up on the gardening. It took my green thumb many, many years to develop. It doesn’t come naturally for me. I have to read and read and talk and talk about it before trying something.

      I have always thought those upside down tomato containers were such a great idea, but I haven’t tried them. It’s not to late to start yours again!

  2. Judi permalink
    June 1, 2010 5:52 pm

    I especially love the pear, great composition!

  3. June 1, 2010 6:23 pm

    LOVELY Photos! and WOW! That’s alot of tomatoe plants….

    • June 2, 2010 7:46 am

      Thanks Dale Anne – and yes, there are a lot of them. Fifteen! They are planted close together in square-foot-gardening style. Soon they’ll just all be one big mass of tomato plants.

  4. June 1, 2010 10:24 pm

    LOVE the Pear photo Martha! I think you should consider putting it on one of your sites where you list your artwork like ImageKind! It’s so very pretty and romantic for some reason. 🙂 Maybe it’s because you have it by the old windows and I just love old windows. It just reminds me of a simpler time I guess and to me that is very romantic. 🙂

    Love the shots of your garden! My goodness but it all looks delicious already. 🙂

    • June 2, 2010 7:48 am

      Thanks for the nudge, Itaya! I definitely will do that. I have been immersed in family activity for the past week, but as of today I can get back to my art biz!

      I’m glad you like the pear picture. My feeble efforts with the camera make me want to do more.

      The garden is healthy and lush because of recent rains. Now we wait for some actual veggies!

  5. June 2, 2010 5:26 am

    hello there – what a lovely blog! I came across you by googling something and saw your lovely inspiration wall – something I have been meaning to do for a while. love your simple photo of a pear in your studio and also what you you say in your profile about ‘experiments’ I am dedicated to experimentation in art and this year have started running on-line experimental art e-courses – here’s to experimenting!!

    I will be back to visit. Thanks for sharing.

    Amelia.x

    • June 2, 2010 8:03 am

      Amelia, thanks so much for introducing yourself and your wonderful blog. I wish you the best with your online courses! Please stop back by sometime.

  6. June 2, 2010 7:10 pm

    Your garden will furnish your table with green luscious foods straight from the earth’s bounty!!! The garden is just beautiful. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • June 2, 2010 7:20 pm

      Thank you so much, Mary Helen. I know there will be plenty of tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers. Remains to be seen about the rest, but this is our first time out.

      I fantasize about not having to buy anything at the store, but that’s just a fantasy I know.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

