Skip to content

Psychic Gifts and Other Thoughts

May 24, 2010

“Psychic Gifts” – Collage, 5 x 7″

Have you ever felt you had psychic gifts? The closest I’ve come is thinking about a friend and then the phone rings and her voice is on the other line. I’m not sure I’d want to explore my psychic abilities. I have enough difficulty handling the realities of the present moment, especially with a growing oil plume in the Gulf of Mexico.

The surreal qualities of this collage lend themselves to an other-worldly title, hence “Psychic Gifts.”

And back to the concrete world of gardens and dirt and work in the studio, I was talking to the tomato plants early this morning and noticed that a mole had visited the planting boxes during the wee hours. A mole, or maybe it brought its relatives. I’ll keep checking that spot. I don’t worry a lot about them, because they don’t eat plants — just grubs, worms and insects. But my dogs love to hunt them. I hate to think about the hazards of being a mole in my yard and garden.

Could I use my psychic abilities to anticipate mole visits?

Work in the studio continues to be a digital project merging my acrylic paintings with nature photographs. More on these as I develop them.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 7:14 pm

    My words are totally inadequate when I attempt to express my rage for BP total destruction of our ocean currents in the sacred Gulf and at the same time I am grieving for the loss of life that will possibly take generations to replenish. May we all be protected from cheap oil! Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • May 25, 2010 4:04 am

      Mary Helen, I haven’t blogged about this because it’s so deeply depressing. But I am completely with you in the rage and grief over it. Yes, may we all somehow be protected from cheap and dirty oil and coal!

  2. May 25, 2010 3:17 am

    Are you sure it is a mole and not a vole? Voles are my garden nemesis and have eaten away the entire root system on some kinds plants and ignored others. It has been impossible to rid my beds of these guys so I had to find plants that they don’t find appetizing.

    • May 25, 2010 4:09 am

      Melody, we have chipmunks and moles that I’ve seen because the dogs have killed them. Body count since we moved: 1 chipmunk, 4 moles. Haven’t seen a vole yet. The mole tunnels are mainly along (under) the fence surrounding ours and our neighbors’ yards, but also I see some along the surface near our driveway.

      I’ve had dirt upheavals in the flower garden and now one in the tomatoes!

  3. May 25, 2010 8:35 am

    I strongly believe in psychic gifts — and that they mostly come unexpectedly. They seem to carry the label “undesigned”. That’s how they protect their freedom to be there when you need them most. The genius dislikes to be appealed for no important reason, I guess.
    In last fall, it saved us from being involved in a car crash in a tunnel.

    • May 26, 2010 9:45 am

      Eva, I do believe in them too. I have just been lazy about opening up to them. When we are caught up in busy-ness they tend to shy away. In fact, I fully believe that we should trust our intuition, especially when it comes to people.

      Wonderful that your sixth sense saved you from an accident.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

