Skip to content

Juicy Collage

May 8, 2010

“Juicy” – Collage, 4 x 4″

This little collage is one of the newest ones. I was going through them to decide what to post, and since we had big juicy blackberries in a cobbler last night, this one was perfect.

We had my sister and niece over for a nice Southern supper last night. It was unplanned, but we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the conversation.  Everyone’s been immersed in care-taking and planting and working inside the house and outside, and it was time for a break.

Our menu was fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans with diced ham, and plenty of sweet tea! For dessert we had fresh blackberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream.

(I think I’m skipping dinner tonight!)

Note to all my readers:  I want to thank you again for all your kind thoughts about the passing of my 17-year-old kitty cat Balentine. I struggled beforehand over whether to even write about it. I didn’t want to write a depressing post. But your responses show that artists, of all people, are very much connected to the four-legged friends in our lives. You reminded me in so many ways that I’m not alone, and I’m so appreciative.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 6:35 pm

    Martha, that dinner sounds like Southern ambrosia, honey!
    If you ever need to share or “vent” about Balentine’s passing, e-mail me. I have an orange tabby and a bk/gray tabby that are getting older too…unconditional love, companions, communicators, art directors. All for canned food, changed litter, and a back-scratch.
    It’s a wonder we even bother to marry at all!

    • May 11, 2010 5:41 am

      Hehe! You are so right, DJ! And I really appreciate your condolences.

      The dinner was so good we all fell asleep in front of the TV.

  2. May 10, 2010 4:47 pm

    Hi Martha,

    I am so sorry to hear about your kitty. We become so attached to our furry friends. You are in my thoughts. Take care

    Shannon

  3. May 11, 2010 5:43 am

    Thanks for your kind thoughts, Shannon.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

