Skip to content

Continuing “Passageways” Collage Series

April 28, 2010

“Passageways III” – Collage, 5 x 7″

The papers used in this collage are 90 percent painted and prepared papers from the lowliest beginnings. They are salvaged and recycled brown paper with pencil marks, tissue from a gift, and newsprint that was used to blot my brayers numerous times. The newsprint was created with collage in mind. When I use a brayer to apply paint to a large panel, I sometimes want to get rid of the excess paint before making a roll with it. So I’ve been keeping newsprint around to build up some interesting brayer patterns with the idea of using it in collage. This way I don’t have to consciously plan how the paper is going to turn out but get an intriguing mix of blobs and colors.

Today will be busy, but not in the studio. Family obligations will keep me away for the next 24 hours, but I’ll take plenty of inspiring art reading with me. Where I’ll be there won’t be an internet connection either, so if anyone’s looking for me on facebook or twitter, I probably won’t be around much. Maybe I’ll take a sketchbook along. That would be a nice test to see if I can withstand 24 hours of not being connected. (I’ll be sitting with an elderly family member, and it will be nice to spend the time with her.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 2:10 pm

    Don’t worry. Staying offline is easier than we might think. I manage to do so for 2 weeks every year.

    • April 29, 2010 4:54 pm

      Eva, I think it’s good to have an excuse not to be online all the time. But I did have a little withdrawal!

  2. April 28, 2010 6:41 pm

    Always take the sketch book…and your camera! Have a great weekend. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • May 1, 2010 8:28 am

      Good advice, Mary Helen! I did take them, but ended up too busy. But you never, ever know and should always be prepared!

  3. May 1, 2010 7:44 am

    wow!
    love your collage.

    • May 1, 2010 8:29 am

      Oh my goodness, Randel. I’m very flattered that you like this. I’m a great fan of your art.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

