Skip to content

Ritual 17, Acrylic on Panel

April 19, 2010

“Ritual 17″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

It will be another busy day in the studio, but not moving paint. I’ll be putting wires onto six paintings that are heading out to shows, and painting the sides on three of them. Then I’ll be packing three to be sent out of state, and the other three will be delivered to the local arts center.

These are the three newest pieces that I created for an upcoming show. They are 24 x 6 x 2″ each. I had them on Facebook and Twitter, but didn’t show the end result here.

“Urban Rhythms  I-III” – Mixed Media on Cradled Panels
Each Panel 24 x 6  x 2″

Sometime while all this is going on I have to work on digital images for a client again. That project is being done between other projects, and will take a few more days.

If I write “I must stay and work in the studio” on the chalk board 100 times, do you think I can stay out of the yard? Even if I promise to go out only this morning to water? We will see.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 5:25 am

    and yet it is those moments out in the garden that help us stay in the studio … … i think its called ‘filling the well’ … i do this in and out thing – all day (and night) but its only when it ‘must be’ (like spring) … and for me, now, autumn … the similarities even within our difference …

    enjoy the process ! >>> Gina

    • April 20, 2010 4:34 am

      Oh good, Gina! Thanks for giving me permission to go outside for refills. Yes, you’re right about this. I think it’s actually changing my art life for the better.

      Autumn is my other favorite season. Enjoy yours!

  2. April 19, 2010 8:59 am

    The Urban Rhythm pieces are to die for. I SO love that they are gritty but chic.

    • April 20, 2010 4:35 am

      Aw, thanks John! I’m happy with how they turned out and hope I can stay in this groove for a little while.

  3. April 19, 2010 2:03 pm

    Hope your upcoming shows go well.

    Our yard is calling, too. A little more clean-up and then it’s time to enjoy reading on the patio or out on the swing. Mmm, lovely.

    • April 20, 2010 4:38 am

      Yes, Jenn — ours too. I have a swing, but it’s not great for reading because of my short legs 🙂 but there’s a big shady spot in the back yard that would be perfect for a hammock! I could even watch my garden from there.

  4. Sandra permalink
    April 19, 2010 8:12 pm

    Love Ritual 17 as blue is one of my colours. And if I rotate it sideways it is an abstract landscape with blue sky. I see so many of your paintings as landscapes – do you have landscapes in the back of your mind or is it just the way I see them? I am going to put this one up on my computer.

    • April 20, 2010 4:40 am

      Sandra, I don’t usually have landscape in mind when I’m painting. I do like the downward direction of strokes and streaks of paint. I can see that if you turn those sideways they can be landscapes as well. A nice jumping-off point for a series of landscapes, actually.

  5. April 20, 2010 6:35 am

    Congrats on the shows- wishing you much success.
    And good luck staying out of the yard! Years ago, while still living in the States, I had what some might jokingly call an addiction to gardening. I was out there in all conditions that south Louisiana had to offer- including midday sun and 100% humidity!
    To comment on “Ritual 17”- great layering of color and texture. There’s much to see in this piece.

    • April 20, 2010 11:09 am

      Thanks so much, Stephanie! I appreciate your comments about the painting.

      Yes, I have a feeling the gardening could become an addiction, although it never took when I was in Florida. I don’t do six months a year of heat and humidity very well. But it will get hot here too! Time will tell whether I can keep up when it’s 90 out and no rain.

  6. April 20, 2010 1:17 pm

    I love to go outside too! I am patiently waiting just two more days for my newly turned dirt to sprout its seeds, then I can turn it and plant my ground garden.

    I got tickled with your 100 times on the board, but you need to write “I will stay and work in the studio”. 100 times. As a former teacher, I understand proactive statements.

    I hope you realize how wonderful to get journals from an artist who actually makes money. Very inspiring!

    • April 21, 2010 12:58 am

      Caroline, my mother was a teacher, and even taught me in the fourth grade! She was stricter on me than the other kids, I guess to prove she didn’t show favorites. Or maybe I took advantage a little bit?? I think I wrote on her chalkboard on more than one occasion!

      I’m glad you enjoy reading about my adventures as an artist. Have you read through some of the old posts about marketing? Some of them might interest you. Just click on the categories “marketing” and “art business” to see what comes up.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

