Skip to content

Tulips and Daffodils

April 7, 2010

Some of these are starting to fade already, due possibly to the unseasonably warm weather. So I thought I’d better show you some pictures before they’re gone.

I’ve never been able to have flowers from bulbs. They don’t do well in Florida. So I’m new to this. I didn’t know we were getting double tulips. The reds, purples and whites are doubles. The pink one is not. I’m told that tulips don’t always survive another season, but I’m going to give them a chance to come up again next year. I won’t plant anything else in this spot, nor will I dig up the bulbs.

The daffodils are forever, at least for as long as we want them in this spot. I love that they are a mixture of color combinations.

If you want to paint these, please do! And if you do, will you share with the rest of us? And let me know in a comment if you’d like a larger version of any of these and I will put it up on flickr for you.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:24 pm

    You will have a lot of enjoyment from your lovely bulbs. I have heard them described as the gems of the garden. As it is autumn here I am just planting up lots of new ones for the spring, daffodils and dark purple crocus. I have tulips that have come up each year for several years so don’t despair of yours.

    • April 8, 2010 5:13 am

      I’m so glad to know that, Sandra. My neighbor across the street has a bed of just red tulips in front of her house, and I know she didn’t put them in this season.

      My sister had me take several amaryllises when she was thinning hers, so I’m excited about seeing those too. They’re supposed to bloom in the summer.

      Your flowers sound divine!

  2. April 8, 2010 7:42 am

    I miss spring flowers! Besides daffodils, another easy to grow bulb flower is the iris.
    Happy spring!

    • April 8, 2010 1:25 pm

      Oh yes, irises! I love those too. My mother had a whole big bed of them in her next-to-the-last house in her life. I will eventually have some. Stephanie, I hadn’t even visited here in the spring for years. It’s amazing, as you well know!

  3. April 8, 2010 8:50 am

    Lovely, lovely. I know what you mean. I live in the Ozarks area of Missouri and I beileve our climate is similar. All my bulbs come up again and again, they spread easily and are very happy in my poor, rocky soil. I do make sure they are covered by mulch, to keep them warm in the winder. Enjoy.

    This year is especially bright with daffodils, there are wild ones everywhere, and I pick a few to put in the house, so that I can enjoy them outside as well as inside. Thanks for sharing.

    • April 8, 2010 1:27 pm

      Yes, Caroline, I think our zones might even be the same. Glad to know your bulbs do so well. Good tip about the mulch.

      I’ve noticed a lot of daffodils here too. Most of the ones out in the fields and the old established ones are fading fast now. Mine are still around because it took them so long to come up from our first planting. I think it’s so cool that you see daffodils out in a field that must have been where an old home was.

  4. April 8, 2010 7:03 pm

    I have to photograph other people’s bulbs because the dear …my sweet dear deer eat all my tulips and I did get to photograph my crocus…they were safe for one day….Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart :O)

  5. April 9, 2010 2:23 am

    Mary Helen, there are plenty of deer around here too. The unique situation that we have here in our little rural subdivision is that a lot of people let their dogs run loose. So the deer stay away from our immediate area.

    In another subdivision just a little closer in and where there are leash laws, a woman I know has many deer in her back yard every morning and afternoon. She has tried to shoo them away from her flowers and lets her little tiny terrier bark away at them to no avail.

  6. April 9, 2010 12:09 pm

    thanks for the offer of the reference photo. i love daffodils and they are only here for such a short time.

    • April 9, 2010 2:31 pm

      Thanks, Odd Chick! Glad you like the pics. I’ve been reading through your blog. I love what you’re doing.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

