Skip to content

Ritual 25, Ongoing Series

April 2, 2010

“Ritual 25″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

This painting seems to say winter. But the ice and snow and bone-chilling wind have suddenly and magically given way to blossoming trees and long days.

I have been outside since six this morning. Just can’t stay in the house! It’s been a glorious spring week, and even though temperatures are deceptively warm and pleasant, we’ve been warned that there will be more frosts to come. I am so anxious to plant my vegetables. But I will wait.

Bradford Pear Blossoms

Today I pulled about a bushel basket of weeds, watered and talked to all my seedlings, and spread eight bags of mulch in the flower garden, which is resplendent with tulips and daffodils. There will be more flowers soon.

I find that all of this is simply the same creative energy that is spent in the studio. Only the focus is different.

I’m looking forward to a happy and relaxing weekend and hope you are too.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 5:57 pm

    Just wanted to stop in and say hello. Spring Fever is in full bloom.
    Beautiful flowers! To me, next to these photos- your painting gives hints of those flowers more so than snow.

    • April 3, 2010 9:50 pm

      Oh Vikki – I’m so glad you got the feeling of flowers from it. Spring fever is really rampant now!!

  2. Karin Lynn permalink
    April 2, 2010 6:11 pm

    Martha , I really love this one. Are there paint skins involved? I can’t quite see all the texture but I love the “quietness”of it. I continue to learn from you. …….wish I lived closer so I could see these “live.” Karin Lynn, Ontario, Canada

    • April 3, 2010 9:51 pm

      Karin Lynn, I did use paint skins. Some are deeply embedded in the surface and some are close to the surface.

  3. April 2, 2010 9:29 pm

    Hi Martha,

    I really love this painting! It has such a light and airy feel to it and really inspires me. Very well done.

    I love the photo of the pear blossoms as well. I hope you are listing this one on Redbubble as it’s just wonderful!

    It’s such a pleasure being a part of this wonderful series and seeing how it unfolds. Thank you for sharing with us all. 🙂

    • April 3, 2010 9:54 pm

      Thanks Itaya – glad you like! And I have a ton of the flower pictures from a current project I’m working on. Had not thought about putting them up on a selling site, but I should.

      You know, I haven’t done Redbubble yet. Just ImageKind and FineArtAmerica. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. April 3, 2010 1:55 am

    Ritual 25 is amazing. Magic.

  5. April 3, 2010 7:15 am

    Flowers are so lovely about now I suppose the colour seem brighter after the winter,
    You can enjoy proper seasons now!

    • April 3, 2010 9:55 pm

      Chris, I’m still loving the changing seasons. I can’t tell you how different it is for me after living in Florida. Hard winters make us appreciate the beauty of spring even more!

  6. Cath S permalink
    April 3, 2010 12:12 pm

    Martha Ritual 25 is extraordinary – I *think* it is something to do with the colours but not sure really. Whatever the reason, it works incredibly well.
    Lovely to see the blossom, just as we head into a cold autumn. Enjoy being outside 🙂

    • April 3, 2010 9:57 pm

      Thank you so much, Cath. I don’t know why it works either. The limited color palette was intentional but the execution of it was not. I was glad it came together.

      Stay toasty and warm as you head into fall and winter!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

