Skip to content

Rituals Series, Number 13

March 30, 2010

“Ritual 13″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

The title of the series “Rituals” refers to the way I approach each day in the studio. Walking around with my coffee outside (if weather permits), tidying up from the day before, filling the jar with clean water, the arrangement of tools on the table, making sure my paints are in order, putting on music, drinking more coffee, thinking, looking at photographs and sketches, and putting down the first marks and smears of paint. After that I may be ready to begin.

What are your daily art rituals?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 1:48 am

    absolutely gorgeous!

  2. March 31, 2010 9:22 am

    Thanks so much, Lohan! I hope you’ll stop by again. I need to check out your blog. Your paintings are beautiful!

  3. April 1, 2010 6:14 am

    I like having rituals and miss that right now. It’s been ages since I had a proper studio routine- things are in a state of flux, as I prepare for a solo “farewell” exhibit before we move back to the US. And I’m almost without a studio now, as I sell off the materials I won’t need (after moving and setting up a new studio, I plan to work in encaustics- a new medium for me.)

    My ritual for now, is getting on the internet and promoting the show while having a.m. coffee. I do spend a good deal of time thinking about new work and studying encaustic- that is to say, getting WAY ahead of myself!

    I like how you approach your day, and the fact that you walk around outside. I think it shows in your work!

    This painting is so beautiful, so stark and wintry.

    • April 1, 2010 6:54 am

      Stephanie, I know how it is to be in flux. It’s so nice to finally feel settled. I wish you the best with your exhibit and your future plans. Encaustic sounds like such a perfect fit for you. I can’t wait to see what develops!

  4. April 1, 2010 1:00 pm

    Ah Martha, your routine is similar to mine… except I write the Creative Potager post before getting ready to paint, or write. Photo shoots are usually later in the day and often a soothing and smoothing of any edges I may have created for myself during my earlier work.

    By the way, I really like the painting for all its “marks” that tell me you have been there contemplating.

    • April 2, 2010 9:38 am

      Thank you, Terrill! I really should write earlier in the mornings than I do. The mind is clearer then and not pulled in all directions.

      Contemplative marks. Yes!

  5. April 1, 2010 2:47 pm

    I love 13. There’s something masculine and chic about it. And dare I say…sexy? Yes, I think so.

    My rituals?
    Music. I open up itunes each morning and choose my soundtrack from the day according to what I will be working on and what “zone” I want to be in during that process.

    • April 2, 2010 9:41 am

      John, I’m loving that description . . . masculine, chic, sexy even.

      Thanks for the little tip about lining up a good playlist to set the mood. I’ve been lazy about that.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

