Skip to content

New Studies, Number Four

March 24, 2010

This is another study in the series that I scanned last week. I am still waiting for panels to dry so I can photograph the ones that are finished. I think this one would be a possibility for one of the panels that are stuck right now. It’s a funny thing, but some of them go smoothly and others just don’t tell me what they want. They want me to work harder for it.

Therefore, I’m going to think seriously about using the studies as a jumping off place for the rest of them tomorrow.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Candy Glendening permalink
    March 24, 2010 7:24 pm

    Ooh! Love the gray brushy circle – and the 2 different blues! If that wee bit of turquoise weren’t up at the top it would be a different piece – how neat is that?

    • March 25, 2010 8:13 am

      Candy, it’s always interesting to think of what can be left out — and what can’t. I’m toying with the idea today of eliminating the gray circle in PhotoShop to see what it would be without it. I like it too, but feel it might be a tad too prominent. Then after playing with it some more in PhotoShop this might get to be a painting . . . or not! 🙂

  2. March 24, 2010 8:30 pm

    Your artwork always just draws me in! This another lovely example. 🙂 I have the same trouble with certain pieces, it’s like you have to push them up & over a hill instead of skipping down a smooth pathway together! I’m anxious to see where you go with this as your inspiration.

  3. March 24, 2010 9:21 pm

    its always lovely to hear and see your process .. thanks for doing that … this one has come together nicely for me … love the storm-like opposing forces that i get >>> Gina

    http://ginaseye.blogspot.com/
    http://fyneartstreasures.blogspot.com/

  4. March 25, 2010 2:02 am

    What if this one was turned by 90°? Wrong. It can’t be. It might work as a mystery landscape; but what about the whirl? A tamed tornado? This would be banal. Doesn’t work. But: With a vertical cleft, it becomes a mystery crevice. The spectator gets sucked in. The mystery lingers.

  5. Shannon permalink
    March 25, 2010 3:25 am

    Sometimes they just have to be left. I find with my paintings that I get to a point and I just don’t know where to go with it, so it will sit there until the idea comes…

    I like this piece, the blue reminds me of water, I find this comforting even though there is craziness going on under the blue.

    • March 25, 2010 8:15 am

      I like that, Shannon . . . “craziness going on under the blue.” Ooooh! A good title too!

  6. March 25, 2010 8:48 am

    This is almost like a partially-underwater scene. I know you don’t paint “scenes” per say (I don’t either), but we are prone to make such references sometimes.
    This one is a very interesting study. I admire that you work so intuitively and expressively!

    • March 25, 2010 10:41 am

      Thanks, Stephanie. That means a lot to me.

      Re the references: I do make connections between a piece and something in the “real” world sometimes. Can’t help myself.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

