Skip to content

Two New Painting Projects

March 17, 2010

Study for New Series
Acrylic on Panel – 8 x 8 x 2″

I’ve spoken with the Tampa gallery and they were ready for more small paintings. That is always music to my ears. Just yesterday I had decided to get started on a dozen new squares, and now I have a deadline for getting them done. I’ve promised them in two weeks.

In addition, I have a commission to do a large painting for a new residence. The client is a cattle rancher and wants the image of a cow skull in the painting, but with an abstract background. We’ve talked  a lot about it and he knows my style. I sent him about eight mockups and he has already chosen one, which turned out to be the first one I did. That pleases me, because that makes me think we are on the same page. It will be fun. Since he’s local, I will probably have him peek over my shoulder a few times during the process. He will enjoy that and so will I.

But now to the two weeks or so of getting a dozen new boxes done. You can peek over my shoulder as I work on those.

Meanwhile, shown above is another one of the Photoshop studies.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 10:44 am

    Wow! This is just beautiful! Hard to believe it’s only Photoshop and not a real painting. Paint this one!! 🙂

    It’s just popping with color and vitality. Love the background…all the layers are just wonderful.

    Can’t wait to see your paintings. Congrats on the commission as well. That will be fun to see unload. Hope u post lots of pics! 🙂

    • March 17, 2010 10:45 am

      Oops! Just realized you said this is a painting from a Photoshop study. LOL
      I should slow down and READ slower. 🙂

      • March 17, 2010 12:50 pm

        That’s OK Itaya. The only thing Photoshop did was allow me to double the number of layers that I had in the original scans. That can be done with paint too!

  2. March 17, 2010 11:20 am

    Here is looking forward to peeking over your shoulder and admiring you creative flow a treat indeed!!

  3. Sandra permalink
    March 17, 2010 6:02 pm

    Beautiful, bright, and intriguing shapes – small asteroids floating in red space. Congratulations on the commission, will look forward to seeing these as they develop.

  4. March 17, 2010 8:21 pm

    Oh my this is going to be fun! I love peeking over someone’s shoulder while they work. Congratulations on the requests and commission Martha:)

  5. Cath S permalink
    March 18, 2010 1:29 am

    A new commission is great news Martha. And so is the need for more of your small paintings. You rock! I look forward to peering over your shoulder while you work 😉

    • March 18, 2010 7:31 am

      Cath, I’m working on the little ones first, because they take so long to dry! Maybe in the meantime I can start the big one.

  6. March 18, 2010 7:19 am

    Congrats on the commission! I realize they can sometimes end up being more trouble than they’re worth, but I’ve had only good experiences so far. It seems to work best when the client is nearby enough to see the work in progress at least once, in person. Will we see a post on its progression?

    I like this study with reds. It could pass as “finished”, to me, anyway.

    • March 18, 2010 7:33 am

      Thanks Stephanie! Oddly enough, I’ve had only good experiences with commissions too. PhotoShop really helps, because it’s easy to show the client a reasonable picture of what they can expect.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

