Skip to content

Studies for a New Series

March 15, 2010

Study for New Series
Acrylic on Panel – 8 x 8 x 2″

Study for New Series
Acrylic on Panel – 8 x 8 x 2″

Soon I am going to open a box of a dozen brand new 8″ square panels and start work on them. These are two studies for a new series yet to be named. These are based on scans of my mat board squeegees that I never throw out. They are composites of more than one image and manipulated in PhotoShop. Sometimes it’s more fun to just play around in PhotoShop for a while before flinging a lot of paint. Especially since my hands were dirty most of today, working in my compost pile and repotting seedlings.

It’s all creative energy.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 7:29 pm

    great texture & composition!

  2. March 15, 2010 8:59 pm

    What a nice contrasting pair! The first, with it’s blues and natural tones feels so calming and then the next just jumps right in your face with it’s boldness. Very cool stuff!

    • March 17, 2010 2:55 am

      Glad you like, Lynne. I’m glad to see some color in my surroundings with spring coming. I suppose I’ve got color on my mind.

  3. March 15, 2010 11:21 pm

    Oh wow, these are powerful! They make my mind wander.
    1. my bare feet on a terrace with a pool — empty, the slight crackling of dry leaves in the wind. The villa belonged to a movie star, it is empty.
    2. my hand on the wall in a barrio. Posters promising a better world were attatched and washed away again.

    I heard that abstract artists don’t always like their pictures to be construed; but my phantasy got started automatically.

    • March 17, 2010 2:59 am

      Eva, I love your responses! I don’t ever mind that, and frequently enjoy just sitting around with artist friends talking about what we see in a painting.

      That’s what I love about nonobjective art. It can say so many things depending on the viewpoint.

  4. Cath S permalink
    March 16, 2010 12:15 pm

    Martha these are really interesting; love the colour of the blue one in particular. And a brand new set of panels ready to go? How exciting 🙂

    • March 17, 2010 3:00 am

      Thanks Cath – yes it is exciting. I’ve been saving them, but now I hear the gallery in Tampa needs more, so here I go! Yippee!

  5. Sandra permalink
    March 16, 2010 6:37 pm

    Great contrast, composition and colour – love them. With no. 1 I am looking down at a coastal scene and sea from the air. In the No. 2 landscape I shall have to run fast to outpace those flames and reach that snowy hollow in the black mountains. Are there going to be more in the series?

    • March 17, 2010 3:01 am

      Yes, Sandra. I’m going to show some more of these studies, and then soon there will be real paintings! Love how you’ve interpreted these. I can definitely see it.

  6. March 16, 2010 6:41 pm

    M — These are Great! My large painting is turning into a very big study!!! It’s always exciting to break into new panels waiting for new work! Love the surface of these and they are in photoshop? Wow!

    • March 17, 2010 3:06 am

      Thank you, Cyndy! You have my complete empathy with the big studies. Some of them demand more of us and then they magically come together. Yours will.

      I’m so excited this morning to be looking forward to a day (and maybe a couple of weeks) of working on new stuff.

      Yes, Photoshop! But they started with actual scans of paint-smeared surfaces. Fun stuff.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

