Skip to content

Saw a Quilt Show

March 12, 2010

Today we attended the local BBQG quilt show. Not being a quilter myself, I can’t identify these patterns for you, but I’m sure a lot of you know what they are. I was just so enthralled with the riot of pattern and color choices made by the various quilt artists that I had to take some pictures from the point of view of an abstract painter.

I am always amazed by the creativity involved in choosing and harmonizing fabric colors, the ability to arrange them in a pleasing composition, the meticulous attention to detail, and the occasional boldness of breaking the rules. Very inspiring!

Here are some pictures from the show, with mostly closeups of patterns and color arrangements that grabbed my attention.

I hope you are as inspired as I am.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 8:59 pm

    One of the reasons I love quilts is that touch you back with a memory when you hold one or sleep under these bits and pieces of the vibrations of the multitude of colors and patterns. Must.Do Art. great! Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • March 13, 2010 8:48 pm

      They are so often a wonderful part of our earliest memories. And the stories! They always make me want to respond to them in my own art.

  2. March 12, 2010 9:07 pm

    Wow – I thought I was on the wrong blog there for a second.

    I don’t know the names of most of the traditional quilt patterns either but they are amazing.

    • March 13, 2010 8:54 pm

      Aren’t they, Lisa? I never get tired of looking at them. All attendees were each given a clipboard, judging form, and a plastic glove should we want to examine the quilting on the backs. We were to fill in our votes for best in each category and then a best of show. I felt very unqualified, but I voted for mine by the criteria I mentioned in my post.

      These examples were only a few of the amazing entries. The Hawaiian piecing was amazing, as were a lot of the choices of quilting. I was reminded how important the quilting is.

  3. March 12, 2010 9:39 pm

    wowie! Great colors

  4. March 13, 2010 7:56 pm

    As you mentioned above, I’ve always been impressed with the craftsmanship (craftswomanship?) and time that goes into quilted creations. Quilters have my respect and admiration for making beautiful, and functional, masterpieces.

  5. March 13, 2010 8:55 pm

    Mine too, DJ!!

  6. March 15, 2010 11:26 pm

    I wish I could have started quilting earlier in my life. But we don’t have this tradition. So nobody could teach me. I’m luckier now.
    Thanks for the show!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

