Skip to content

Starting Seeds in My Studio

March 2, 2010

“Anything Will Grow Here” – Collage, 5 x 7″
Mounted on 8 x 10 Archival Paper

Available in my Etsy shop


My studio turns out to be the perfect place for seed starting. I have my Ott light for a grow lamp, plus across the room I turn on my double halogen shop light for a few hours a day, and near the ceiling are my eight little spotlights. This gives them enough light to get by, and then on days that aren’t freezing I put them outside to get them accustomed to the temperatures and for some real filtered sun.

This is a total experiment, but reason told me that I needed to get a jump on lettuce, since summers are very hot here. Therefore, lettuce may not do well after spring.

I’m most excited about the seeds that I saved from the heirloom tomatoes my next door neighbor gave me last summer. Those are coming up nicely, shown on the left behind the pole beans. Those beans will be transplanted into pots in a day or so, because they’re growing fast! The center tray holds beets and carrots. The entire tray on the right is my lettuce — six or seven different varieties.

Thoughts of a garden keep me smiling through these gray days. The collage is titled “Anything Will Grow Here.” I don’t think that applies to plants literally, but is more about the growth that takes place every day that we show up and start something creative. It’s not necessary to always finish. All that’s required is that we make a start.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 4:36 pm

    Love your words…
    “I don’t think that applies to plants literally, but is more about the growth that takes place every day that we show up and start something creative. It’s not necessary to always finish. All that’s required is that we make a start.”

    ….perhaps you should write?
    Or have I missed your publication?

  2. March 2, 2010 5:59 pm

    Thanks DJ – publication? You’re looking at it! 🙂

    I would love to have a book sometime in the near future. Unfortunately, that takes a ton of work. I need to kick myself in the butt and get going.

    • March 2, 2010 8:04 pm

      And there are definitely a variety of formats to consider…Some are less involved than others…You would be a great read~

      I’ll be waiting…
      🙂

  3. March 2, 2010 8:08 pm

    I can’t tell you how much I love the title “Anything Will Grow Here”.

    Well, I guess I just did.

    • March 3, 2010 3:40 am

      Aw, thanks, John. As you know, titles don’t come easily for me. I think this one fits.

  4. March 2, 2010 11:44 pm

    This collage really caught my eye. It is so different from your former ones. It is so full of life! A very direct approach.

    • March 3, 2010 3:43 am

      Thank you, Eva. I remember that I started it the same as all the others with a generally spontaneous and rather random composition, everything glued in place. Then I played with little paper shapes on top of the composition until they seemed right. Suddenly I had something that looked like a plant shape. Glad you like the result.

      • March 3, 2010 11:01 am

        Oh, I did not see the birds before I wrote this comment. I think the “life” is in that one, too. It doesn’t mean that your past collages lack it. Perhaps these latest ones speak to me more than those.

      • March 3, 2010 1:00 pm

        Eva, I always value your feedback. You make me think about what I’m doing and I love that. I think I know what you mean by “life.” But it’s an intangible and elusive thing for me still. I’m happy when it happens.

  5. March 2, 2010 11:56 pm

    Heirloom tomatoes – how fantastic. I think heirloom plants are just magical. Happy planting Martha.

    • March 3, 2010 3:45 am

      Oh, Cath! They were so delicious. I can’t wait to see how they do. This variety of tomatoes has a heart shape, and can be quite large. There’s a second variety that I saved from his tomatoes, but they aren’t true heirlooms. But they were good too.

      • March 4, 2010 1:45 am

        There is a trade of Russian tomato seed. My brother grows them. They are so much tastier than those in the supermarket, although the seed sale is for decoration only; they don’t have a license. So they cannot be offered as food on the market. Pretty crazy.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

