Skip to content

Two Panels Completed, Mixed Media Painting

February 23, 2010

mixed media painting“Memory I” – Acrylic and Collage on Cradled Panel
30 x 30 x 2″

mixed media painting“Memory II” – Acrylic and Collage on Cradled Panel
30 x 30 x 2″

Finally, after some minor color glazes and adjustments, I am calling these two paintings finished. The title “Memory” comes from words in one of the pieces of newsprint collaged onto the surface. The ad headline reads “Regain 10 . . . (something something) . . . Lost Memory Power.”

The most recent post with progress pictures on these paintings can be found here.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 2:24 pm

    These panels suck me in, the longer I look at them.

    • February 23, 2010 3:04 pm

      Eva, I’m so happy you like them.

      • February 24, 2010 10:03 am

        After posting this, I remembered with a little shock that “these panels suck…” sounds dead wrong. No, I love them.

      • February 24, 2010 12:16 pm

        Silly girl, I knew what you meant!! 🙂

  2. February 23, 2010 2:30 pm

    ANd to think these started out as 2 nine-patches! My favorite bit is the red square and the black circle made with a splotchy line in the lower left of II. Are these meant to stay together or stand on their own?

  3. February 23, 2010 3:06 pm

    Candy, they are meant to work independently, but I think they’d possibly work together, although they seem a touch different to me.

    The first one I decided to quit and leave it more raw and spontaneous, because I liked it that way and was afraid to take it further (glad!)

    The second one seemed to require a bit more tweaking to resolve it, but it seems more “worked.”

    Does that make sense??

  4. February 23, 2010 6:10 pm

    Oh My but these are Awesome! I could sit and stare at them for hours. 🙂
    Great job and yes…call them done! Very well done.

    Did you say these are a commission or just some that you are going to put in a gallery?

    Just gorgeous!

    • February 24, 2010 7:18 am

      Thank you so much, Itaya. I am hoping to get my gallery in Tampa to take these eventually. They have enough of my inventory for now, but it’s always good to have new work. At some point they might like to trade some pieces out.

      Or . . . I might find an additional gallery. That would be nice.

  5. February 23, 2010 8:42 pm

    I have discovered working in a grid has infinite possibilities and with over glazes and adding textures possibly with maybe someday adding context for future clues …just a thought. I do so appreciate coming for a daily visit to your studio and the disintegration of your papers has to take time…be patient. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    I do have a short blog http://maryhelenfernandezstewart.blogspot.com so stop by sometime. :o)

    • February 24, 2010 12:18 pm

      Yes, Mary Helen! A good thought about bringing in more content/context. I have fantasized about that.

      I have so enjoyed reading your blog, and hope everyone else will get over there asap!

      The papers are looking fine, maybe a little more weathered. Some leaves have blown over on top of them.

  6. February 23, 2010 11:50 pm

    Something about the first really draws me in. The atmosphere and space. Love it.

    • February 24, 2010 12:27 pm

      Fadwa, I appreciate your feedback. It’s even nicer having seen your blog and discovering a little bit about your artistic vision. Beautiful work!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

