Skip to content

The Winter Palette

February 15, 2010

I’m not a professional photographer, but I do love recording my surroundings for future reference. The colors of winter have been uppermost in my mind lately. On Saturday we took a little drive through a state park just five miles away and I took a few pictures there.

The first one shown below is a big field just outside our little community that we pass by every single day when we go into town on errands.

The second and third ones are of the golf course at the state park, and the last one is near the boat launch.

These colors as wonderfully muted and soft. Even when the sky is overcast, there are still beautiful colors if you look for them.

Feel free to use any of these as references for your own art. I plan to do the same.

And today we have more snow! It’s mid-afternoon and the temperature hasn’t gone above freezing. The little bit of snow that fell last night came very fast. Most of it has melted, but there are still snow flurries. We truly are just in the edge of the snowy weather. I’m sure our kids in Philadelphia are getting ready for a break.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 7:32 pm

    We are receiving our third snowstorm in 13 days and though it is so beautiful I am grateful we do not have to go out anywhere…schools have been closed for over a week much to my daughter’s demise. The kids are ready to be back with their friends but the roads are treacherous and there was a 100 car pile up in the county west of us. I too find inspiration in photographs so icicles are on my mind these days. Have a safe winter’s day and Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  2. February 15, 2010 9:24 pm

    Mary Helen, this winter has been amazing. You are so lucky to be able to stay off the roads. They can be scary right now! I am cancelling plans for tomorrow, because as it turns out we had more snow today than originally forecast, and this is on top of ice that formed from the first snow.

    Stay safe and warm.

  3. Becky permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:17 pm

    Here – west of Boston – the snow is pouring down. I had to travel for a meeting today and now I’m wondering whether my dentist or I will cancel tonite’s appt first!

    Tomorrow, I’ll be super happy to telecommute! I’ll be on a couch keeping an eye out the front window, hoping for birds to land in the azalea. The room was an unused dining room, but now with a couch instead, it’s awesome to just sit and watch the weather ~ and landscape transformations. 🙂

    I look forward to seeing how the weather transforms your bundles… take care, Becky

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

