Skip to content

Road Trip with My Sister

February 4, 2010

“My Bride Doll” – Digital Collage

I get to spend tomorrow afternoon with my sister. This is a rare treat for both of us. As always, she will tell me stories about our family’s adventures over the years. As my “big sister” she is the keeper of the story. And she has written much of it down. She is a genealogist and has written a novel about our great-great grandmother, as well as  voice recordings she has made of family elders’ memories.

Even though we moved this past summer and I am now just a few miles from her, we don’t see each other much. Just about the time we moved, her husband became wheel chair bound and she is his primary caregiver. Not because she could’t afford help, but because that’s just the way she is. Her daughter will stay with my brother-in-law so she can be gone for a few hours. We’ll be going on a road trip to visit a childhood friend of hers who is in the hospital, and it will be a road we’ve both traveled a thousand times over the years, many of them together. It will be sad for her to see her friend so ill, and I’m glad to be going with her.

The last time we spent a day together was when we drove to our uncle’s funeral about two months ago. On the way back, we got off the beaten path so she could show me a tiny town that is like a time warp, not too far from the first house I can remember living in. And after that we tried to find a short cut back to the main highway and ended up on a farm road that seemed endless. I said “I think I’d better turn around.” She said “Aw, where’s your sense of adventure?” We have always enjoyed “getting lost.” But I did turn around and we did end up back on the main road.

We’ll have a day full of stories tomorrow. I love my sister’s stories.

Note:  Pictured  above is a doll that was discovered along with some of my other dolls in a shed at my mother’s a few years ago. My sister rescued them and mailed them to me in Florida.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 12:06 am

    Oh I love this collage of your beautiful doll! How romantic and nostalgic it all looks. Wonderful job.

    Hope you enjoy your road trip with your sister…or at least the story parts! 🙂 Reminds me of my little sister and I. We live about an hour and a half apart but get together maybe once or twice a year.

  2. February 5, 2010 7:05 am

    What nice memories you have! I hope you and your sister have a wonderful time.

  3. February 5, 2010 7:18 am

    Hope you have that lovely afternoon. The digital collage is beautiful!

    • February 5, 2010 7:17 pm

      Thank you, Karen! We had some real quality time, and took our time getting back! 😉

  4. February 5, 2010 11:32 am

    How wonderful that you can spend some time together, although I’m sorry it’s for this occasion. I hope you two have another enjoyable adventure together with many stories shared!

    • February 5, 2010 7:18 pm

      Jessica, it’s so wonderful to be close enough so that we can do little road trips more often. We have missed that time together, and now we can take advantage of it.

  5. February 5, 2010 11:41 am

    How precious the picture is and the time you get to spend with your sister. I got the pleasure of a 2 day road trip with my siblings a couple of years ago. We went bury my mom’ ashes in her home town. It was our first visit to that part of Kansas and what an adventure we had. The old cemetary and church was fascinating, and the town was so old and small we could hardly find it. Saw the high school my mom attended, and learned a few things that we didn’t know, such as the funny thing we all say when telling someone a long story, using “blah, blah” to skip the redundant parts. Any my brother learned that he was had a twin that miscarried (my sister and I are fraternal twins and best friends). He always wondered why he felt something was missing (not love, he was adored by all).

    Have a wonderful day with your sis.

    • February 5, 2010 7:23 pm

      Isn’t it so true, Caroline? We get together when someone passes or someone is gravely ill, when otherwise we might be too busy with our own lives. In the bargain we learn so much about each other and about our histories.

  6. February 5, 2010 1:39 pm

    I’m fascinated by your digital collage of the doll Martha. I am saying to self “how did she do that! crazy!”

    My husband had a severe stroke in August and though is physically fully able-bodied he is still recovering from the event and can only stay on his own for a few hours at a time… but the length of time gets longer as the months progress. I too wouldn’t have it any other way – closed my executive leadership coaching and made a commitment to be available to focus on his recovery with him for the next couple years.

    My creative work is a sustaining piece for both of us. He knows I’m doing something I’m passionate about that I wouldn’t have done otherwise. It keeps the balance in our togetherness.

    • February 5, 2010 7:26 pm

      Oh, Terrill. My thoughts and prayers go out to you as you adjust to your situation, and as your husband progresses toward wholeness with your strength and steadfast support. These are the things that show us what’s truly important.

      • February 7, 2010 1:46 pm

        This is true Martha and yet even in these moment of major shifts requiring our courage and belief in possibility, there are gifts. It is hard to explain but I feel great gratitude.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

