Skip to content

Five Beautiful Things

February 3, 2010

One of my readers emailed me yesterday to tell me that she has a little ritual that she does before going to sleep. She remembers five beautiful things that she saw that day. I was inspired by that, and hope to incorporate that into my night time routine. I think it’s a wonderful thing to do to put oneself in a good frame of mind for the next day.

It’s easy for me to remember five beautiful things around me. Today, we went for a short ride across Wilson Dam which spans the Tennessee River, and parked in an observation area just below the dam where thousands of birds gather to fish. Nesting pairs of eagles on the high bluffs are visible through binoculars, and one can also see seagulls and herons fishing this area.

Here is a view across the river, with the dam to the right.

And of course there are always the beautiful bare trees. I love the white limbs of these sycamores.

Another beautiful thing today was Ruby, the Basset pup, whose person was teaching her how to walk on a leash. They were the only others around.

OK, that’s three. Other beautiful things include the 15 or so species of birds, give or take, that frequent our four feeders every day. I love looking up into the branches of the big tree next door when they are loaded with starlings. These are loud and annoying birds to some, but they make me smile. And they don’t stay long. This picture was taken early in the morning.

And number five, but not the last in importance or beauty, the sunset from my back yard.

Do you remember to think about the beautiful things in your day?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 4:20 am

    Oh this is why I can’t go to sleep! I remember the five hundred beautiful things I see on all the blogs I follow. Takes time!

    • February 4, 2010 6:28 am

      Eva, that is how I live too. Looking for and finding beautiful things! Just between you and me, one more beautiful thing: I have a lovely quilter next door who is going to give me a big bag of small fabric scraps for my collages!

  2. Annette permalink
    February 4, 2010 6:06 am

    Martha, I took pics of white sycamore trees against Monday’s blue sky. I do love them and they are becoming rare. And I am always grateful country sunsetsl

    I have great intentions of making note of my “gratitudes” every night, but usually forget. So I try to think about it during the day and just wind up with a bunch of fleeting moments. I’ll try to do better.

    • February 4, 2010 6:30 am

      Annette, I usually do the same thing that you do. When late night comes, it’s hard for me to stay awake to think.

      We have the luxury of a huge sycamore tree directly across our little street in a vacant lot. It’s always visible outside my living room window. Of course we got some of the leaves, but we have to rake anyway.

  3. February 4, 2010 7:41 am

    What an adorable puppy! I just love looking at that sweet face!

    • February 4, 2010 7:56 am

      Isn’t she just precious? So glad I got that picture. Thanks for your comment and for introducing yourself, Nancy. I love your beautiful art.

  4. February 4, 2010 5:49 pm

    Oh, what wonderful pics you’ve taken!
    The other day while painting in my studio, I experienced a huge flock of southern-bound birds lighting in a large neighborhood tree for a few moments, then continue their flight to warmer climes. The sound and sight made such an impression on me in the stillness of my working that I can still hear the chirping…
    And that puppy!!!!!!!! I want to snuggle with that face so badly!
    Your sunset is a wonderful way to greet the evening…
    You’re blessed, kid.

    • February 4, 2010 9:44 pm

      Yes DJ — I surely am blessed.

      Isn’t that puppy face the most adorable thing? And I can imagine your joy with the birds passing through. I was amazed to see how many different ones stay here through the winter. We didn’t have nearly as many different ones around our house in Florida, but we were closer to the city and had a lot of traffic and not as many trees in our neighborhood.

      We are told that a lot of the eagles come here from the north because the lakes freeze over and they can’t fish. Because of that, this is supposed to be a prime eagle watching area.

      When I left here before, I was a young mother with toddlers. No time to pay attention to the birds! But I did always love the sunsets and the countryside.

  5. February 5, 2010 9:10 am

    I love your choices (especially the birds in trees). That puppy is just too cute.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

