Skip to content

Collage and Books About Collage

February 2, 2010

Here are two more collages from my Intuitive Collage Process demonstration. Some have been sent to New Zealand for the annual International Collage Exhibition and Exchange. I still have several of them, which are waiting to be listed in my Etsy shop.

“Predicting the Weather” – Collage, 5 x 7″

“Winter” – Collage, 5 x 7″

Four New Books

Here’s a confession: I am addicted to art books. Can’t get enough of them, ever. What I love is that I can read them through several times and the next time I open one, I see something new or am interested in some aspect of that book that is different from the last time that I read it. My most recent acquisitions have been more collage books! I love to see other artists’ approaches to collage, which is a never-ending source of fascination for me. These are my new books. Three of the four have arrived and I’m still waiting for the last one on this list. I can enthusiastically recommend all of the ones that are here already. Each one has a different style of presentation and approach.

Collage Techniques by Gerald Brommer

Collage Discovery Workshop by Claudine Hellmuth

Collage Art, a Step-by-Step Guide and Showcase by Jennifer Atkinson

Art Revolution — Alternative Approaches for Fine Artists and Illustrators by Lisa Cyr

One day I may own a Kindle, but I just can’t imagine that an electronic reader will ever take the place of the smell and feel of a well-loved book.

I want to eventually incorporate more collage into my painted panels. You might have noticed some text in a few of them. Here’s an example:

“Elements 16″ – Acrylic and Collage on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 12:00 am

    the Brommer book is one of my favourites … i so agree that i cannot imagine not handling, paging through, dog earring a book in favour of e-reading … from my experience even here – i print out many things to read and find myself skimming when reading online.

    I look forward to seeing where you take your works utilising collage … (fun, hum ?)
    >>> Gina
    http://ginaseye.blogspot.com/
    http://fyneartstreasures.blogspot.com/

    • February 3, 2010 8:37 am

      Gina, I really do love the Brommer book. I can imagine reading it over and over and still getting more from it. It’s not new by any means, but in a way I like that even more. Nothing faddish or trendy about it at all.

      It is fun thinking of where the collage will lead.

      I do the very same thing re print vs. screen. I don’t like to sit and read a screen for very long at a time.

  2. February 3, 2010 1:53 am

    Hi Martha – great collages as always. Love your choice of books. Our library has Art Revolution and I have borrowed it a few times now. I think it’s a brilliant read; very inspiring.
    As a librarian, I don’t think Kindle will take off and replace books. I suspect it’s like having a book in paper format and on audio cassette – the non-paper format will suit a few people, but not the majority.

    • February 3, 2010 8:26 am

      Cath, I think you are right about the book vs. other media. And now that people are watching their wallets, I’m guessing the libraries are getting more traffic. We don’t buy as many books as we used to, but I do love the library!

  3. February 3, 2010 2:05 am

    Yes! Art books! Although I read a lot on the internet and buy less books since I have that, my art books are my treasure, read 3 times and more, looked at the pictures even more often. Some stuff just needs large pictures.

    • February 3, 2010 8:27 am

      Yes, Eva. And don’t you find that you continue to see them with a fresh perspective over time? I agree about large pictures.

  4. February 3, 2010 5:02 am

    Martha! We’re a lot alike in some things. I have the ‘Collage Art’ book sitting on a shelf from quite awhile ago and must pick it up again. ‘Art Revolution’ is a recent acquisition and I can’t put it down. I think you’re gonna LOVE it! : )

    Btw…woke up far too early this morning thanks to all the inspiration dancing around in my head. Now if only I can stay awake long enough to follow through on some of it…lol.

    • February 3, 2010 8:30 am

      Funny, Karen — Collage Art was one that I had lent out and never gotten back. Didn’t realize it was the one until it arrived in the mail. I had only had it for one quick read and then lent it to a friend. She passed away soon after. Now when I read it I’ll always think of her.

      You know, sometimes one can get inspiration overload. But I don’t mind it much!

  5. February 3, 2010 11:33 am

    Martha, I have hardly ever worked with collage though I admire the creations of others greatly. I didn’t even know there were books that I could get to learn how to do it. Wow. Hummm but where will they go? I must declutter before purchasing anything more:)

    • February 3, 2010 1:04 pm

      Do what I did. Donated a huge collection of books to my local library so I could start over! (But that was only because we were moving.)

  6. Sandra permalink
    February 3, 2010 6:29 pm

    Wow, your beautiful collages are coming all the way to my country! Which city? It would be great if I could get to see the exhibition. I’m addicted to art books too and keep accumulating them.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

