Skip to content

Earlier Work and a Sense of Wonder

January 31, 2010

This diptych was painted in 2006, and looking at it again now, I can see how it ties in with my recent panels. This pair was sold soon after completion, so I don’t see it any more. It’s good to look back to see where we’ve been.

“Strata” – Acrylic on Canvas, 30 x 30″

The only thing that would be different now is more texture. But other than that, they ring true.

A Sense of Wonder

The warm sun is out melting the icicles and the remaining snow and ice, which wasn’t very much. But the past 24 hours were well below freezing. I love seeing the drips of water coming off the icicles, and the remainder of the sleet that fell and stayed on top of the leaves, looking like little diamonds. People accustomed to winter probably don’t give these simple things a second thought. My eyes are full of wonder this year.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 2:15 pm

    Martha, these are beautiful! I’ve never done any abstract designs but you inspire me to try it.

    • January 31, 2010 8:12 pm

      Jane, I hope you do. You might really enjoy it. Was reading through your blog just now and loved your tulip painting that almost went bye-bye! Glad you kept it.

  2. January 31, 2010 3:48 pm

    I’m with you, Martha, looking at the shimmering wetness melting into puddles. The sound of ice particles falling through my magnolia tree was something like rushing currents in a rocky river. The damp tree limbs shedding their silver and rising into stateliness once more.
    I wonder what February will bring?

    • January 31, 2010 8:20 pm

      DJ, I have a feeling that February and probably part of March will be just as full of winter surprises. I can’t wait to start my lettuce seeds! Reading in the seed catalogs tells me that most of them are 45-days-plus to harvest. Gotta do something to remember there will be a spring.

      Today was gorgeous and we took a little drive to give the dogs a break. A few short miles north and you hit Tennessee, where the storm was heavier. In just a few minutes we started seeing bare trees sparkling in the sun with their glaze of ice. Even though the sun was warming things up, it hadn’t all melted yet. Beautiful! But I am glad we didn’t get a heavy ice storm.

  3. January 31, 2010 9:16 pm

    These are so beautiful still today. February and March are a wild roller coaster ride here in Ohio. Today we were blessed with clear sunshine but do not be fooled because we were still in the single digits. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen

    • January 31, 2010 10:04 pm

      Mary Helen, I don’t know what my little whippet will do when we get to single digits, because it does happen here on occasion. I’ll probably have to put her sweater on her just to go out!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

