Skip to content

Winter from My Front Door

January 7, 2010

We had a light dusting of snow today. It was enough to get a real feeling of winter. Those of you who have followed this blog for a long time know that I’ve missed having seasons, having lived in the sub-tropics for more years than I care to discuss. But this fall and winter in our new home have given me confirmation of how much I really have missed them.

The little bit of snow here in our area will give way to shockingly frigid temperatures for the next several days. We have made sure we have provisions for the duration, because whatever moisture remains on the roads will turn into ice.

Meanwhile in the studio, I am adding gels and texture to the two 30″ square panels that I’ve been sharing in this blog. It’s slow going. I have to tape off areas and apply gel to those, then let them dry and tape again for additional gel layers. Soon I’ll show the final results.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 6:28 pm

    Hi Martha

    I am in southern Michigan. We got about 4 inches during the day today and are expected to get 2 or 3 more inches by morning. My Mom is being driven to my house from the UP and was planning to be here by noon. It is a 4 hour drive and they will stop for breakfast.

    It is very beautiful, but makes just a tad nervous to have my 85 year old mother out in it.

    Loving what you are doing on those two panels and can’t wait to see the finished products.

    xoxo

  2. January 7, 2010 6:30 pm

    lucky you. lol
    its a foot deep were i am.
    i dont miss it

    • January 9, 2010 3:41 pm

      Kseverny, you may be more accustomed to it than I am! I guess we are lucky. Stay warm!

  3. gem13 permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:54 pm

    they are coming along beautifully – i look forward to seeing where they arrive …

    how lovely to be enjoying the snow … it looks wonderful (from sunny hot hot hot Tasmania – 4 seasons here too except the snow falls on mountains we can see in the distance and not in our backyard) …

    i may not comment often, but know i read you with every post – and have never tired from enjoying >>> Gina
    http://ginaseye.blogspot.com/

    • January 9, 2010 3:42 pm

      Gina, it means a lot to know you’re there and reading when you can. You’re lucky to have four seasons with not too much harshness. that would be the best of all worlds!

  4. January 7, 2010 6:58 pm

    Martha —
    What a beautiful view from your front door! I feel as if i’m standing there with you! I love getting your blog every evening and enjoy whatever you’re doing inside or out of the Studio! This painting looks great! I am trying to blog more regularly thanks to your daily posts! Stay warm! (We had a little earthquake out here in the San Francisco Bay Area today). C

    • January 9, 2010 3:43 pm

      Cyndy, I read about your earthquake! Isn’t Mother Earth amazing and a bit humbling?

      Glad you’re enjoying the blog. I’m flattered that you’re taking up the gauntlet to blog more. I’m glad, because I love your writing about art and everything else going on in your life.

  5. January 8, 2010 2:29 pm

    Isn’t the snow just beautiful. Not sure I would like to live with it mind you! We’re in what’s meant to be the height of summer and some regions are still getting hail.
    The painting is looking so interesting, the colours look so rich.

  6. January 8, 2010 6:14 pm

    Beautiful photos…no snow here…yet!

    • January 9, 2010 3:44 pm

      Well, DJ, I guess you could count yourself among those more fortunate. But the snow has been a novelty for us this year. Both of us have been gone from it for so long. And the dogs! Their first ever.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

