Skip to content

Progress on Those Panels

December 29, 2009

The top picture is the current stage of the two 30″ square cradled panels after applying additional color this morning. The bottom picture shows stage one.

I am going to divide the space even more. As I create smaller sections, some of them will be built up with a lot of texture and some will remain as they are now, because there are passages I like already. Even the areas that will get texture may have parts of the underlying marks showing through. I will take it as it comes.

My apologies for not having them in the same orientation as in the first photograph, but I think you can see what’s going on anyway.

The white areas in the centers of both panels are actually the same with no color changes. The room lighting was not as bright the second time around. I still have to paint my walls white, but probably won’t get around to that until spring. The rust colored walls and floor definitely influence the colors.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 1:43 pm

    I like the look of the panels being in thirds. Are you using wax to make them darker and more built up than the center?

    Loving the colors and the abstraction.

    xoxo

  2. December 29, 2009 2:00 pm

    Thank you Vicki. The division into thirds is just to keep me on track with a general grid, and hopefully to keep them working together. I’ll be making each of them loosely into a nine-patch, but there will be other divisions as well. The added color is simply a smeared-on diluted acrylic color. I haven’t built up any texture or depth yet.

  3. December 30, 2009 8:10 am

    I like the thirds too. Looking super my friend! xo

  4. December 30, 2009 9:31 am

    Love to see you working on these two again and the insight into the thought process. I have work in various stages all around and sometimes when moving stuff to make way for grandsons…they get lost. But when found it seems I see them again with new eyes.
    I am thinking of relocating..to sunnier realms and today especially..no sunshine! If you don’t mind my asking I know you recently relocated..but can’t remember where and you mentioned today…the painting of the walls in your studio will have to wait till Spring..when is that suppose to arrive in your location? I am in the Chicago area and believe me Spring is coming sometime in MAY!!!
    Can’t wait to see your next division decision…….

    • December 30, 2009 9:50 am

      Keri, thanks for your comments. I agree that it’s nice to look at work again with fresh eyes after taking a break from looking at it. We have recently moved from Florida where we lived and raised our kids to north Alabama where I grew up. It’s amazing how long I was away from this area and still never got used to having no real seasons. I love the changing seasons, and even though we’ve already had record cold weather, I know it won’t be a long one and that spring, which comes generally in April, will be even more appreciated. Or if you’re a gardener, we’re in Zone 7.

  5. December 30, 2009 11:28 am

    I really like the initial marks on these and the grids are coming up well – all very exciting.

  6. December 30, 2009 4:46 pm

    I love the way this just brings everything to the forefront. I also love following along with the progress and can see that each and every step makes it look so much more complete.

    • December 30, 2009 5:00 pm

      Teri, I’m happy to know you are following along. Keep checking and you’ll see even more changes!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

