Skip to content

Small Art, Big Presence

December 17, 2009

“Love Spake” – Collage, 4 x 4″

I think I like creating these 4 x 4″ collages more than doing little canvas paintings.

It’s great to present a small collage with a very generous border.  This is how it might look matted and framed in this way:

You can have small works on paper like these professionally framed or purchase your own ready made frame and you will have an affordable piece of art with real presence.

Look for my collages in my Etsy shop for collage.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 7:09 pm

    Really Nice M!

    The composition is everything and the generous frame works very well! I was just thinking about no Studio time til after Christmas…but, you just got me going again and I’ll have to squeeze some time in every day! Getting your posts every day is always amazing! Keep going! c

    • December 17, 2009 8:04 pm

      Cyndy, I am suffering studio withdrawal myself! So happy I was able to get you going. Now maybe I can get myself going!! Happy holidays!

  2. December 17, 2009 7:22 pm

    I love these intimate collages…they are jewels to make …to see…and to own! I have been in bed with a bad back…it is the only back I have so I should say a painful back! I look forward to some private time for myself to explore these intimate processes, Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen

    • December 17, 2009 8:06 pm

      Mary Helen, I hope your back gets better magically fast, and that you get to play soon.

      Thanks for stopping by in spite of your pain. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the collages.

  3. Karin Lynn permalink
    December 18, 2009 6:18 pm

    Martha, I do like your small collages and love the framing with the wide borders. Do you mind me asking the size of your mats? I like the deeper bottom border and sometimes it takes me awhile to figure out the inexpensive way to get this look. You do use “standard “sizes of frames correct? Could you give me the dimensions of the frame , mat , and image size of your collage? Do you have general “guidelines” that you could share with us? Thanks so much.

    • December 18, 2009 8:26 pm

      Karin Lynn, I’d be glad to outline that information for you in the next post.

      This example shows an 11 x 14 mat. I love to cut an opening that is centered with the same size border on the top and two sides, and then the remaining long border at the bottom.

      Learning to cut your own mat openings is easy with a little practice. I find it to be lots of fun.

      Tomorrow I’ll elaborate!

  4. Eva permalink
    December 20, 2009 7:23 am

    Love those large borders! Things look so precious when being put up like this. The border and frame suggest a treasure. And it is.

    • December 20, 2009 7:30 am

      I do too Eva. I had promised to outline the mat cutting procedure in my next blog post — yesterday! I’m still writing it. :)

  5. December 20, 2009 10:31 am

    I love the small collage in the large mat! Also thank you for the info on doing your own mats, you are a wealth of good information.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family.
    -Jane

    • December 20, 2009 1:09 pm

      Glad it’s good info for you, Jane. It’s a good thing for artists to know, because sometimes you just want to have a good presentation for an exhibition but it might not be something permanent for the end collector. Also good if you are doing outdoor shows, etc.

  6. January 1, 2010 10:00 am

    Yes, I have always enjoyed a generous mat on artwork. Your awesome collage work is no exception…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 578 other followers

