Skip to content

Not Digging in the Flower Bed Today

December 10, 2009

We tilled our flower bed yesterday in preparation for daffodil bulbs, but today it’s too cold to get back out there to put them in the ground. It’s past noon and barely above freezing.

We hear it’s supposed to warm up for the weekend, so we’ll try again. The bulbs have been in a closet in an unheated room of the house, next to an outside corner. I hope they don’t get confused before they go into their bed for the rest of the winter.

So instead of planting, I’ve been playing around in the studio. Here’s another collage. I’m loving the 4 x 4’s. The reason for the 5 x 7 format to begin with was to have a baker’s dozen collages for the International Collage Exchange again after the first of the year. I’m glad to be participating in this exchange, because it gives me a deadline to work toward and gets me working on collages again. I tend to forget just how much fun they are. I could get used to doing these little ones!

“Thinking of Flower Beds” – Collage, 4 x 4″
Mounted on 10 x 8″ Acid Free Pa;er

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 4:39 pm

    A wonderful piece, Martha.

  2. December 11, 2009 8:49 am

    Martha, I like the use of text in a way that makes it not-text but a design element. I also love the contrast with the yellow, green and white drawing. It works really well against all of the pinks and roses. Looks great.

    • December 13, 2009 12:15 am

      Thank you Elisa. I enjoy text when used as a design element too. Glad this one works for you!

  3. December 11, 2009 5:16 pm

    Nice work. I wish I could participate in the collage exchange too, it sounds like it would be fun. 🙂

    • December 13, 2009 12:17 am

      Hanna, it might not be too late. You could send Dale a message and just ask about it! It’s great fun, though this is only my second time to participate.

  4. December 11, 2009 5:45 pm

    Enjoying your collage pieces!
    I love your color combinations in these. Must check out the Int’l Collage Exchange now…
    Thanks for sharing, Martha! You’re awesome!

    • December 13, 2009 12:18 am

      Glad you’re enjoying them, DJ. I think you’ll like the collage galleries on the site.

  5. December 12, 2009 8:01 am

    The collages look great – thanks for sharing them – you might be interested in some of my sketchbooks – if you like them I would appreciate a link – thanks
    Tom
    http://www.tomwood.typepad.com

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

