Skip to content

Thanksgiving in the Country

November 26, 2009

Here are a few pictures from Thanksgiving at my sister’s log cabin in the woods. It was warm and cozy and festive inside, and food, stories and laughter filled the house.

Dinner’s ready to serve!

The table is set. The crowd is about ready to gather around.

I love this whimsical folk art dove.

This pie safe was built by hand by my brother-in-law, using wood  from a big tree that he cut. The tin was hand punched by family members, a project that lasted over a period of two years.

The portrait is of my grandparents and uncle.

Here is the website that my niece created on the history of this amazing place.

I hope everyone who celebrated Thanksgiving today enjoyed time with friends and family.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2009 11:01 pm

    Thank you for shareing part of your life and Thanksgiving with us.
    Please know that your enthuziasm for both Art and life is an inspiration to me.You take your place amongst the greats in this world and have a passion for giving , teaching,and helping others. One could only hope that life and work could parallel the dedication which you have shown as an artist and thinking,feeling human being.
    Love your workand love you.Eric

    • November 27, 2009 2:02 pm

      Eric, that is so humbling to hear. I can only hope to share a little bit of the same love for art and life that I’ve enjoyed through the years. I’m touched that it creates such a positive response from you.

  2. Mary Fran Banks permalink
    November 27, 2009 8:39 am

    What a beautiful piece, Martha. Thank you for sharing. Am go glad to have reconnected with you through the love of art. Have a good one! Mary Fran

    • November 27, 2009 2:03 pm

      Thank you, Mary Fran. I’m so happy we reconnected, and I know I’ll be seeing you sometime soon.

  3. Eva permalink
    November 27, 2009 1:34 pm

    Can this romantic environment possibly be topped?

  4. November 27, 2009 6:36 pm

    Martha –

    Wish I was there!! The pictures look like you stepped back into the 19th century!! The stories those old logs could tell…!!

    xo
    D

  5. November 30, 2009 10:17 am

    WOW! What a great place to have a Thanksgiving feast! So cozy and peaceful, thank you for sharing it with us!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

