Skip to content

My Big Painting Knife

November 12, 2009

My big painting knife shows up in this video. It’s the longest one the artist shows in the assortment of knives. Now I want the rest of them.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    November 12, 2009 9:17 am

    Hi Martha,

    These video demonstrations are great! I learned yesterday, that you can use parchment paper to do skins.

    What I am chomping at the bit to see, are demonstrations showing paint application techniques. In the last video the gentleman showed a technique called – I believe he said – scrumbling. Great for someone like me who doesn’t have these techniques under my belt.

    I wish I could see many more demos in this regard. I try to analyse paintings for instruction – I have books up the ying yang but still cannot find enough techs. to satisfy me.

    Thanks again Martha.

    • November 12, 2009 9:26 am

      Sherrill, glad you’re enjoying these as much as I am. I didn’t know parchment wouldn’t adhere to acrylics either. Making a mental note.

      As for scumbling, I have never heard the term used the way he did. Here is the correct definition of the technique:

      http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/scumbling

      I guess his scumbling could be considered a greatly magnified version of the same technique.

  2. November 12, 2009 10:06 am

    There is no better way to learn techniques than just watching! The best things in my life I learnt this way, sewing, embroidery, weaving, etching… My arts teacher in school did not like to talk much, all he said was: “gather round my table and see what I’m doing.”

  3. November 12, 2009 1:24 pm

    I want some of those knives. Especially the larger ones!

    That is one super-mellow dude. LOL.

  4. November 13, 2009 8:08 am

    I have that same huge palette knife, found at- of all places- a remote little art shop in the US Virgin Islands (the only art store there)! I’ve been painting with a palette knife since my art school/college days.

    Thanks for sharing another informative video.

  5. November 13, 2009 6:54 pm

    I took two classes from him in October. He is indeed a very mellow fellow! His name is Peter Andrew and he is an amazing wealth of information! I learned things about color from him that I wish I had learned twenty five years ago. I also enjoyed a fantastic art history lesson on the artists who blazed a trail for all of us who use acrylic paint. I feel so fortunate to have met him in person!
    I bought three different sizes and shapes of those knives. I’m looking forward to experimenting with them! It is something completely new for me.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

