Skip to content

Work in Progress Number Four

November 7, 2009

110905Untitled (Work in Progress) – Acrylic on Canvas, 12 x 12 x 1.5″

This painting will get more layers of color until it tells me it’s finished. I’m planning more overall color and will cover up part of the texture. As was true in yesterday’s post, sometimes they don’t speak loudly enough to let me know. Sometimes they just say maybe.

Yesterday after a wonderful week of family time, our kids and our adorable little baby granddaughter headed back home. They were smart to drive during the night so the baby would sleep most of the way. I didn’t really see all the stuff they brought into the house last weekend, but when they packed up the car yesterday I wasn’t sure it was all going to fit. Those days are long gone for me, thank goodness. Only the young can achieve such feats.

Since the car was packed pretty tightly, I couldn’t squeeze in the paintings I had donated for their walls, which they had picked from my studio inventory. I told them they are doing me a favor by making room for more paintings. I’ll pack them up in a big box and have them shipped next week.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Fran Banks permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:51 am

    Martha, I truly love looking at your creations; I must be honest though I don’t understand the concept of how you paint; I do appreciate its looks and the colors though. Perhaps as we stay in touch, I can understand your paintings more and more. What does the term “encaustic” mean? Also, this one could have something to do with the piece that stands out (I don’t know what to call it – lol) that looks like a butterfly to me. Don’t laugh at my ignorance o.k.? Just keep on doing your thing! It is really unique and again, I love, love my pendant. Just think, I have a Martha Marshall piece!!! Love ya! Mary Fran

    Oh, yes, my e-mail address has changed somewhat. Notice the placement of the number only.

  2. November 7, 2009 8:18 am

    Mary Fran, your questions are very welcome! It’s just fine if you see things in an abstract painting. The fun of it is that things can be interpreted in all kinds of ways.

    The concept for me is intuitive, meaning that I just start with few concrete goals in mind and interact with the colors and texture. But for any artist some background in composition and design is helpful.

    Encaustics are paintings done with a combination of beeswax and damar resin. Oh my. You would love just being in a room where those delicious colors are being melted down and smelling the beeswax. That is hypnotic in itself, but encaustic is a medium that has no equal really. The colors can be translucent or not, thickly or thinly applied, textural or smooth, hard-edged or not. Application is immediate and there’s no waiting for it to dry. As soon as it cools it is solid. You can embed objects in the wax, scrape or melt it off and start again. The possibilities are endless.

    Thanks for the email update. And I’m thrilled that you are enjoying your pendant!

  3. Mary Fran Banks permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:48 am

    Thanks so much for the info. I feel as if I’m in art class; I know I have many limitations but I just love trying to paint. . . . . If I only could have started earlier . . . . . oh, well, there’s no time like the present!! Thank you God for each day! Love ya!

    Don’t know if y’all are football fans, but sure hope the Tide rolls over LSU today! I love those UNA Lions too; Mike and I are both alumni of UNA (used to be Florence State College)!

    • November 8, 2009 10:33 am

      Mary Fran, starting to paint now means you can bypass all the painful searching of a younger artist. You probably know much more about what you want to say now. The rest is just perfecting your craft. You could leave many in the dust before you’re done! 😉

      I’m not a football fan so much, mostly because I’m so one-dimensional with my art. Too much so, I’m afraid. But the rest of my family doesn’t miss a thing about sports!!

  4. November 7, 2009 8:56 am

    Love this one Martha….some of my favourite colours many of which I can see outside my window on this sunny autumn day.

    • November 8, 2009 10:35 am

      Aren’t the colors wonderful? I’ve been gone so long! Check with me when it snows.

  5. November 7, 2009 9:33 am

    Your current work, to me is about going back to your roots!
    It is about nature and the texrures in natute , The current work in progress reminds me very much of earth,field and the texture you get on the ground in these places
    Enjoying them very much

    • November 8, 2009 10:36 am

      Chris, I guess we can’t get away from the colors and textures that surround us. It’s the best of all worlds really. Glad you’re enjoying the paintings.

  6. November 7, 2009 10:25 am

    If a picture speaks to the painter, it will do so to the spectator. A long and pleasant conversation!

    • November 8, 2009 10:37 am

      Thanks for the reminder, Eva. I think I wring my hands about that a little too much. Yes, it’s a pleasant conversation indeed.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

