Skip to content

More Autumn Colors in Paint and Photos

November 4, 2009

110904Untitled and Unfinished – Acrylic on Canvas, 12 x 12″

This is another of the five works in progress from last week. Each one will now receive attention on its own, even though I started working on all of them together. I just need to resolve it compositionally in some way. But I do like where the colors are headed. More layers will unify it more.

And here’s a little something from my camera again today. I am going crazy taking pictures of my new surroundings. We visited a friend’s cattle ranch at dusk on Monday, and here are some of the pictures from that visit. Please feel free to use these for your own inspirations.

Cows Sm

Farm at Sunset Sm

Cows Too Sm

Farm at Sunset Sm 2

On the way, we saw some deer out in the field  . . .

Deer

Deer 2

This is the only way to shoot them — through a camera lens!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 11:25 am

    I am still working this morning from an earlier free photo of yours and I love how well it relates to Albany, Oregon. Your photos today almost could be our back yard. Especially the Angus! And the deer are familiar. In our neighborhood even though it is in the city, a small population of deer is a healthy one. There is less and less for them to eat as more of the farm fields are developed. And some have problems after accidents. It makes my heart bleed for them. The city turns their head and allows the way he hunt. The bow hunters are hired, given special permits and are skilled. Supposedly they only shoot just out of city limits, but they certainly walk through city fields hunting.

    • November 4, 2009 1:38 pm

      Yes, Diane – there are lots of deer that get hit by cars here. They are such gentle and graceful animals. I hate for them to suffer from our way of life.

      I would love to visit your area. I know it must be gorgeous.

  2. November 4, 2009 12:49 pm

    Looks a lovely area you are in very pastoral, These latest paintings seem to have even more layers!

    • November 4, 2009 1:40 pm

      It is very pastoral, Chris. And bumped right up next to strip malls, etc. You can go for miles of country roads, and right next to you might be a six-lane road with big stores and traffic.

      I am going for more and more layers of paint, with some of the first layers peeking through.

  3. Sandra permalink
    November 4, 2009 6:26 pm

    Love your autumn colours – my favourite season. Will be so interested to see how you develop these.

  4. November 4, 2009 7:04 pm

    I live in the country…sort of…close enough to the city and still have four legged creatures grace my backyard. You constantly amaze me with your expression in colors and the compositions seem to be evolving naturally. I work to increase my layers without muddying the voice of the work itself. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  5. November 5, 2009 2:59 am

    Beautiful landscape! The painting is like a glance up to the light of the sky, as it comes back between the trees, making up a bit for the loss of green.

  6. November 5, 2009 11:37 am

    Lovely light in the landscape, great atmosphere. The colours on that canvas are stunning – the orange and turquoise rock.

    • November 5, 2009 6:05 pm

      Thank you, Cath. I do love orange and turquoise together. Now I am seeing a lot of them together in nature.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

