Skip to content

Painting Progress, I Think

October 26, 2009

These are still just a beginning. Pictured at the top are the five 12″ square paintings at the end of today. The bottom half shows the first stage, from my previous post.

The heavy paint application takes a very long time to dry, even though they are acrylics. There will be many more layers of gels and paint, until they are complex enough to please me. Each painting is in the same position as yesterday.

WIP 10_26

And here is “pumpkin dog” — an attendee at yesterday’s local Renaissance Faire.

Pumpkin Dog

9 Comments leave one →
  1. candiedfabrics permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:56 pm

    As a non-painter, seeing these layers build up is really neat…thanks for sharing and feel free to show more progress! 😉

  2. October 26, 2009 5:06 pm

    I like where these are going Martha. I do think, however, you should develop that top middle one. Possible? : )

    • October 28, 2009 5:45 am

      Karen, I love to look at that shower curtain. It’s vinyl, so that means the acrylic paint could be transferred from that to another surface. You jest, I know, but I keep thinking about it!

  3. John permalink
    October 27, 2009 6:50 am

    beautiful… love them all! Hope they are shown locally so I can see them in person and that they get bought up for a hefty, well-deserved artist profit!

  4. October 27, 2009 10:44 pm

    LMAO! I love how you threw in Pumpkin Dog as an added bonus.

    • October 28, 2009 5:48 am

      He was so damned precious. The young woman was willing to let him pose for me, but it took several shots before he stood still.

Trackbacks

  1. Another Work in Progress (Or Maybe Finished?) « An Artist’s Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

