Skip to content

A Sense of Place

October 21, 2009

More mini-abstract landscapes . . .

A Sense of Place“A Sense of Place” – Acrylic on Canvas, 4 x 4 x .75″

Above it All“Above it All” – Gouache on Paper, Image Size 6 x 6″

Blue Cedar“Blue Cedar” – Acrylic on Canvas, 4 x 4 x .75″

A horizon line is hard to resist, even when painting in a completely spontaneous way. These are just a few more of my little abstracts that lean toward landscape. They are always quick and enjoyable to do, and seem to help me think of ways to go forward with large scale pieces.

It’s been a very busy day, and I hope to do more painting tomorrow than I did today, which was none!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 12:04 am

    I love these Martha, especially “Above it all”, one of those paintings you can lose yourself in. Apart from a recent 30x30cm triptych, it’s been a long time since I worked on a small scale, and these have inspired me (or challenged me) to have a go again.

  2. October 22, 2009 6:46 am

    Rosy, thanks for visiting and for your comment. I am finding more and more that working on a small scale gives me ideas for large scale works.

    I work both ways — at times just by starting out with a lot of paint on a big canvas, and at other times working from studies.

  3. October 22, 2009 8:25 am

    I love these landscapes. I especially like the looseness of the painting, and the colors you choose. Each one of your posts is an inspiration to me.

    • October 22, 2009 9:51 am

      Thank you so much, Angela. Your blog is an inspiration to be as well. The next best thing to being there, right??

  4. October 22, 2009 7:31 pm

    Love them all as always. Above is my favorite.

  5. October 22, 2009 9:36 pm

    Your works are totally mesmerizing and at 36 by 36 the large one pulls me in with the vivid color play. Thank you for sharing your incredible process. I wish my quilting process was sometimes more immediate but when all is said and done the hand quilting is meditative for my soul. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • October 23, 2009 6:04 pm

      Mary Helen, I know what you mean by Zen-like meditative processes. They keep one centered and in the right place for further contemplation.

      Happy you like this.

  6. October 23, 2009 5:59 pm

    In Blue Cedar, I love the combination of the grid below the horizon line and the color field above it!

    • October 23, 2009 6:04 pm

      Well there again, Seth — it wasn’t planned. I was happy with how it worked out. Thanks — glad you like that!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

