Skip to content

Interpreting the Landscape

October 20, 2009

Grassland“Grassland” – Acrylic on Canvas, 7 x 5″ – SOLD

This little painting is sold. But I was looking at it just now thinking that this is one way to interpret the landscape without being too literal.

Here is another one that suggests landscape but also leaves some to the imagination.

Imaginary Landscape“Imaginary Landscape” – Acrylic on Canvas, 5 x 7″

Available in my Etsy Shop.

Or I could get a little bit more literal:

Marsh, Autumn“Marsh, Autumn” – Acrylic on Canvas, 4 x 4″ – SOLD

All of these are tiny of course. I’m imagining something with the same feeling but in a large scale. We shall see.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 2:57 pm

    The first one could be one of the photos you posted yesterday…

  2. October 21, 2009 3:50 pm

    Ahh, yes! I see it!

  3. Sandra permalink
    October 21, 2009 5:53 pm

    wow, Wow, WOW! What a brilliant way to abstract from landscapes. And just so much inspiration in these three paintings. They’ll ALL go in my revolving display, I never tire of looking at your art, and when I get a bit bored with my job I refresh myself by just clicking through them all. I think too that this will help with what we’re doing in class at present. You are just such an inspiration, I do wish that I didn’t live half a world away and could meet with you.

    • October 22, 2009 10:53 am

      Sandra, what you may not know is that I have difficulty abstracting from the landscape. I guess I need more practice, or maybe I think about it too much. But still it’s a worthwhile endeavor, I think. It would be fun to have a painting retreat with all my blog visitors!!

  4. October 21, 2009 8:02 pm

    Ohhhh I really love the first one!

  5. candiedfabrics permalink
    October 22, 2009 5:40 pm

    These are all lovely. Now, when you say you “have difficulty abstracting from the landscape” – in which sense do you mean? Do you tend to paint things too literally…or so abstract that there’s no there there 😉

    I love to see inside your head [well, when you’re thinking about art at least…;-) ] …it’s so incredibly interesting and useful! Thanks!

    • October 22, 2009 6:58 pm

      Candy, you hit it exactly, Both are true. It’s the in-between that’s so hard to achieve. For me at least!

      I start out so abstractly that there is no there there, but when I begin to define or suggest, it’s hard to stop at the right time.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

