Skip to content

Licensing your Art – The Gift that Keeps on Giving

October 14, 2009

Secrets Sm
“Secrets” – Acrylic on Canvas, 24 x 24″

This original painting was sold in 2006. I have a high-resolution scan of it, and am able to license the image for prints. I have high-resolution images of a good many of my paintings, and make them availalble for reproduction.

These are my current images that are available for reproduction.

Licensing is the gift that keeps on giving. If you’d like to know more about licensing your art, here is an excellent article on the subject.

I have included this resource in my blog before, but I can’t stress enough what a great resource it is. You should read it before you investigate the subject further:

The Do’s and Dont’s of Art Licensing by Lance Klass

Additional excellent resources include:

The Artist’s and Graphic Designer’s Market

Legal Guide for the Visual Artist by Tad Crawford

Business and Legal Forms for Fine Artists by Tad Crawford (Includes a CD with legal forms for downloading.)

If you have other resources that you’d like to add, I’d like to hear about them.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 3:41 pm

    i like the texture in this one

  2. October 14, 2009 4:53 pm

    Thank you for the links and resource recommendations on licensing.

    • October 15, 2009 9:31 am

      Chewy, there is a wealth of information on the web. It’s endless really. A lot of fine artists don’t think much about licensing, (perhaps thinking it’s too “commercial”) so I like to mention it once in a while.

  3. Sandra permalink
    October 14, 2009 6:12 pm

    Love your usual beautiful use of soft colour, and the intriguing shape. And the way you can keep on thinking up such great titles for your series paintings.

  4. October 15, 2009 7:58 am

    Thanks for the information. I am still learning to process it all. I don’t remember them teaching me all this in school. It would have helped.

    • October 15, 2009 9:33 am

      Fulton Co., thanks for your comment. This information is out there for those who are persistent with their research. And there’s money to be made. I checked out your work and it looks ideal for licensing.

  5. October 15, 2009 3:47 pm

    Martha — Great post and beautiful work! Since you asked for licensing resources – what started as a “How to Get Started in Art Licensing” eBook a year and a half ago has grown into a family of sites with many ways to learn about licensing – from free monthly calls to eBooks, teleseminars and more.

    Artists wanting to learn more are invited to visit http://www.ArtLicensingInfo.com

    My #1 goal is for artists to understand what the “job” looks like quickly before investing a lot of time and energy in an avenue that may or may not be a fit!

    Here’s to your creative success & that of your readers –

    Tara Reed

    • October 15, 2009 5:33 pm

      Tara, I’m delighted to have your link and will definitely check it out. I agree with you that licensing isn’t the way to go for all artists. But it’s an income stream that’s worth investigating.

  6. October 20, 2009 5:21 pm

    I’ve been licensing my husband Drew’s art for about 10 years now.

    Just one of his images, PURE JOY, has earned well over $200,000 in licensing royalties. And the funny thing is, we sold the original painting in 1998 for only $450.00. Had we known what a hit that painting would be later, we might have held onto it…..

    I wrote an article about how licensing is working smarter, not harder. Here’s the link: http://drewbrophy.com/licensing-your-art-is-working-smarter-not-harder-how-to-begin-part-1/

    Thanks for this article and for sharing your information with others!

    • October 21, 2009 4:27 am

      Maria, thanks for this great information. I have had similar experiences whereby some of my paintings have earned much more in licensing royalties than their original price.

      Thanks for visiting and for your link. I know it will bring you lots of readers.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

