Skip to content

Accidental Effects

October 12, 2009

Ritual 32 Sm

“Ritual 32″ – Acrylic and Collage on panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

This painting started out as something different altogether. Then disaster. Two of them were inadvertently placed face to face for an extended period and stuck together. I love working with unexpected elements, so I decided to accept the gift of a happy accident.

Some of the other painting and some of the collage elements had been transferred to this one. Therefore I worked back into it and this was the result.

I think if you click the image and enlarge it a bit, you can see an area that is raised, with parts of an old map adhered to that. This is the accidental area. I was excited when I saw what had happened.

A Comment Via Email and a Request for Friendly Critique

One of my readers Caroline Colasanti sent me an email yesterday in response to my last post asking what everyone is working on. With her permission, here is the text of her message and the image that she sent. She has asked for feedback on her painting.

I am working full time and don’t have time to enjoy my artistic side as much.  Recently did my first miniature,  The size is 2 1/2 x 3 1/4, entitled “Feeding Ducks”.
Attended our “Thomas Hart Benton”  Competition and Exhibit.  The presentation by Steven Labadessa (MSSU Professor) reminded us that criticism should always be welcome.  The worst thing a critic can say is nothing.

So, hey, everyone give me some constructive criticism.

– Caroline

Feeding Ducks

Thanks, Caroline, for sharing your work. I don’t have any criticism. I love it.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 7:15 am

    This is great! I love work that involves serendipity.

  2. October 12, 2009 8:58 am

    Karen, thanks — I appreciate your stopping by. Your work is beautiful. Looking forward to your blog.

  3. October 12, 2009 9:27 am

    Enjoyed your ‘Happy Accident’ I can see a map there!
    A lovely joyful painting by your guest

  4. October 12, 2009 9:31 am

    The whole piece is brilliant to me and every effect is just so beautifully placed.

    • October 12, 2009 10:13 am

      Thank you, Mary! Maybe this way of working invites lots of disasters, but the rewards are worth it I think.

  5. October 12, 2009 10:23 am

    That is one truly AWESOME accident!!!

    • October 12, 2009 10:37 am

      John, I can’t tell you how many unhappy accidents it takes to have a happy one. Because I’ve had plenty!! 🙂

  6. October 12, 2009 11:15 am

    The ritual being a mirror image — that is very profound. What a wonderful accident. The composition could hardly be better if constructed with intention.

    The miniature “Feeding Ducks” is very spontaneous and full of motion and contrast. I love the expression of the boys face, something between fear and pleasure. The tree in the background could have been dimmed a bit or just hinted, it is a little puzzling.

    • October 12, 2009 3:33 pm

      Interesting, Eva. Yes it was a wonderful accident. All I did was capitalize on it.

      I agree about the boy’s expression. I love the spontaneity of the piece.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

