Skip to content

Experiments on Canvas

October 9, 2009

Yesterday I accomplished a lot, but none of it was art in the true sense. Here it is Friday, and did I accomplish all my goals for the week? Not even close. But I insist on remaining hopeful that everything on my list will get done. Without goals, none of it would.

Here are two images just to spark your imagination. I managed to work on some small experiments today in between emergency projects (All good! More about that in another post.)

Both of these are 5 x 7 inches on primed unmounted canvas. I love working this way. The first one is acrylic with no collage elements. The second one includes collage and some paint skins (the big black dots.)

Don't WorryDots

I like to cut the canvas with about an inch and a half border all the way around. Then I can paint freely and mount it later, either to stretcher bars, a piece of heavy mat board, or wood. As always, I like to work on several at a time.

Tell me what you’re doing. I need your inspirations too!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 4:36 pm

    IN the second one I love the way you can work with the contrast between free flowing paint and the hard edges of cut paint skins.

  2. October 9, 2009 6:30 pm

    Inspirational Martha!!
    I like both….

  3. October 9, 2009 8:09 pm

    It’s always interesting hearing your thought process and seeing the wonderful results! You’re my first stop when I get a few free minutes.

    The last 2 weeks have been VERY busy with art related projects. It feels good to be making art again. I’ve moved my website (still a work in progress) and my blog also moved (so my link has changed). I went through thousands of photos and put together a art presentation for my art group – the presentation was very well received. I’ve been working on 2 new quilts and have them mostly done. And last night a friend let me know she had 2 tickets to see Springsteen in NJ so I called a friend and we saw a great concert. Out way too late, and I can’t stop yawning, but after a good night’s sleep I think I’ll be recharged for more studio time.

    😀 eirdre

    • October 10, 2009 7:20 am

      Deirdre, it’s nice to know you get something of value from my blog. That makes me happy.

      Your projects sound exciting, and I’m glad you took time for a Springsteen concert!

  4. October 10, 2009 2:57 am

    I meditate. Cannot show pictures. But what I see with half-closed eyes is much like your art.

    • October 10, 2009 7:23 am

      Wow, Eva. Would love to see what you’re seeing. Maybe you could paint or stitch it!!

  5. October 10, 2009 3:39 am

    Love the colours lots!
    Yes the working on unstretched canvvas is nice,if you put masking tape or something like that around ypur proposed borders its nice to peel bke and get the straight edges if thaat is what you want
    I always visit here and leave with something to think about.

    • October 10, 2009 7:26 am

      Chris, I do like to do that when working on paper. With canvas, I don’t really mind the messy edges.

      I am going more and more to unstretched canvas so that I can store it easily until needed for hanging.

  6. paul vaz permalink
    October 10, 2009 6:27 am

    Hey Martha I am producing a product that makes stretching your canvas after painting a piece of cake. Check it out on utube, its called stick and stretch or hanemhule galerie wrap. let me know if you would like to try it.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

