Skip to content

First Textural Paintings

October 7, 2009

Here are two textural paintings that represented a turning point for me back in 2005. I still have both of these paintings and keep them around for reference and inspiration. I would love to find them a new forever home, but I’m enjoying having them in the studio.

They were the result of working with a group of artists in the final painting class of a beloved art professor before his retirement.

Things were looser and less formal even than they had been in past classes. We had signed up for the semester precisely because we wanted to be there for his farewell term.

The music was loud enough that day to get into a groove, and I just started throwing things at my little canvases.  It was my intent to get out of the way and let my right brain create something.

Each painting is 12 x 12″. The still inform my work four years later.

Beside the Channel

Beside the Channel - Acrylic, sand and sawdust on canvas, 12 x 12 x 1.5"

Channel Overlook Smaller

Channel Overlook - Acrylic, sand and sawdust on canvas, 12 x 12 x 1.5"

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 5:51 pm

    its really cool work

  2. Sandra permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:00 pm

    As they mark a turning point I think they are probably in their best forever home. How your use of texture has developed awesomely since 2005!

    • October 8, 2009 4:58 am

      Thank you, Sandra. Maybe they are where they should be, since they are so important to work that came after.

  3. October 7, 2009 6:11 pm

    You are so prolific in your painting…today I went out on a personal photo safari while we have good Fall weather…I love the incredible textures you have generated and I wish I could reach out and touch the edges. Thank you for your thought provoking images in urban decay…I am presently in love with rust and paint that is fading from sight. Imagine and Live in Peace. Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • October 8, 2009 5:00 am

      Mary Helen, I hope you make some wonderful finds with your camera. And that discoveries give rise to some exciting new things.

  4. October 8, 2009 8:43 am

    I love it when a moment comes together like that one in your class did for you, but it’s even more magical when a beautiful piece of art (or two) come out of it. 😀

  5. October 8, 2009 1:47 pm

    Beautiful pictures! Especially the second one. It has such an amazing balance between calmness and motion, temperance and wild spontaneity.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

