Skip to content

Collage, My Not-So-Secret Obsession

September 24, 2009

I want to get back to doing some collage very soon. The papers and glue keep calling me. But I do  like to completely shift gears from painting to collage and keep them as separate activities in the studio, although a small collage will sometimes inspire a painting.

In the meantime, I get to play with some digital collage with my morning coffee, as a warm-up for other things. This digital collage is made up of images of textural paintings, plus some purely digital color in the small rectangle.

Crazy Quilt Study 2


4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 5:45 am

    I enjoy collage, but I struggle with it every time, too… I dunno if it’s a mental block or just my love of creating surface design and then being satisfied and stopping there. LOL

    • September 25, 2009 6:11 am

      Judi, I know what you mean (I think!) I create collage papers with paint and pattern on various substrates. Once I do a whole batch of those I sit back and admire the result without thought of the actual future collages.

      I’m beginning to see that the point for me of this whole art thing is the process itself.

      • September 27, 2009 7:46 am

        That’s one of the hardest lessons to learn, too, that the process itself is the joy and the end result is just… the end result. I don’t always see it that way and get into periods where I feel like I have to severely up my production of finished and ready-to-sell pieces. I drive myself crazy in the process. Then I need to remind myself that there’s no cosmic tally board- no one is keeping score.

  2. November 8, 2009 4:36 pm

    I’m really into magazine/newspaper clipping collages..but I really want to get into using different types of mediums…I’ve looked around your blog and you really know what you’re doing. If you have the chance, look at the collages on my blog. I’d love to hear what you think.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

