Skip to content

Revisiting Images

September 23, 2009

Revisiting images this morning just out of curiosity, to see where I am today relative to what I was doing a couple or more years ago.

Here are some examples that I don’t think have been shown on this blog before. These are from my “sold” folder. I guess I must have been doing something right. Looking at them now, I can see how much more texture is in my current paintings when compared to these, with possible exception of this first one.

Dissolve

“Dissolve” – Acrylic and Textural Media on Canvas, 12 x 9″ – SOLD

Rust
“Rust” – Acrylic and Textural Media on Canvas, 30 x 30″ – SOLD

Strata Diptych“Strata” – Diptych, Acrylic on Canvas, 30 x 30″ – SOLD
(with apologies to my long-time readers, because I think I did show this one when it was newly painted.)

Opening
“Opening” – Acrylic and Textural Media on Canvas, 30 x 30″ – SOLD

All of the large scale paintings in my inventory are getting a little age on them. If I don’t do something with them, they are going to be sadly outdated. I love painting big, but will probably not do very many of those in the near future unless by commission. Been there, done that.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    September 23, 2009 7:35 am

    Hi Martha,

    Always so happy to see your posts. These are so lovely.

    You mentioned here, that they are getting a little age on them. Not being an experienced artist, I don’t know what that means. Do you mean the surface yellows etc.?

    Or, do you mean that the technique or style is becoming dated.

    Sherrill

    • September 23, 2009 8:22 am

      Sherrill, I only mean that most galleries aren’t very interested in works that are more than maybe two years old, so the second part of your question is the part that applies. But if I’m to sell them, they need to be in a gallery or a show somewhere. So here they sit!

  2. September 23, 2009 8:14 am

    These are really lovely, Martha, and I can understand how honored the owners must be to have them in their possession. It is amazing how inspiring reviewing our past work can be, and you never know what part of it might show up in the future. I love to paint large (a dream is to paint a 10′ x 8′ or larger), but storage often becomes an issue if I get going faster than I can sell. I also have been known to pick up old works and re-work them!

    Thanks for the trip through your memories!

    • September 23, 2009 8:04 pm

      Kim, I love to paint big. But storage definitely is a problem. And I too have been known to rework old pieces. In fact, they are never safe until they leave the studio for good.

  3. Sandra permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:04 pm

    WOW! Stunning use of colour, bet the owners know that they have real gems. How long ago was it that you really got into texture?

    • September 23, 2009 8:20 pm

      Thank you Sandra. I started working with texture around 2005 give or take. I wanted to experiment with various textural media, but knew that once I did, the canvases would be forever textural. So I did a few and they sat around the studio until I really decided to do a major series.

  4. September 24, 2009 12:17 am

    Your art is opening my eyes for similar things around me. Have you seen my latest posting on things found on a walk? Funny it was about rust in both cases.

    • September 24, 2009 6:15 am

      Eva, I made sure that I immediately looked at your post. Amazing pictures!

      Now you are inspiring me to take my camera next time I go into the town across the river, which has many, many abandoned old buildings. It’s a sad looking place — a place where we built a new house when I was four, and lived for a few years. Then the economy went badly downhill back in the 70s or so.

      I drive through there a couple of times a week. Many photo-ops — plenty of peeling paint, weathered wood and metal, and rust!

  5. September 24, 2009 6:41 am

    I am thoroughly enchanted with your blog! It’s going into my daily reads. Your work is wonderful and spontaneous, filled with movement, which is always very attractive to me.

    I, also, had to move past painting on huge canvases. I loved doing it, I loved the results, but muscling those pieces around (I haven’t seen an easel yet that could handle one) was frustrating and exhausting, and I ruined the front of more studio t-shirts leaning over them than I can count. 😀

    I’m going to take some time this weekend to browse your blog… I see a lot here that feels familiar and I can’t wait to explore!

    – Judi

    • September 24, 2009 9:15 am

      Judi, I’m so happy you took the time to stop by and comment. I hope to see you again. Your blog is beautiful, and those hummingbird pictures are the envy of my husband, who is a beginning photographer.

      The only way we can figure to shoot them is just to have the camera sitting there all day on a tripod and use a remote. We have only one feeder and still get quite a few. Next season we’re going for more feeders.

      • September 24, 2009 10:32 am

        The best way to photograph them once they’ve flown into the trees is to try to watch them as they leave the feeder and see where they land. Hummers are creatures of habit and while you may see 10 new birds every day, each hummer prefers his or her own particular perch. Sometimes they choose two or three perches, but once you learn where those are, all you have to do is go outside, get comfortable and still in a position where you can see and photograph the favored perches, and wait.

        I also find it helpful, once I locate some favorite perches, to practice focusing on them. Also, it helps to have a lighter background behind the birds, so moving around a little to get a good clear shot is excellent practice, too.

  6. September 24, 2009 12:33 pm

    Judi, thank you for that wonderful camera advice. We are determined to figure it out!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

