Skip to content

Texture Studies

September 18, 2009

I have been looking at a variety of textures for inspiration for my next pieces. I like to simply digest the imagery and then let things come to me as I work. For me, it’s not enjoyable just to try to create a faux texture and call that a painting.

I miss my paint palette skins that were lost in the move. They were one of those things that looked to someone else like something to throw away. I’m not pointing any fingers. I should have been more vigilant. Oh well — there will be a whole new collection of them soon.

Square Study 1

Square Study 2

Square Study 3

Square Study 4

I wish you all a wonderful, creative weekend.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 3:02 pm

    Love the unintentional look! And the typography integrated.

    • September 18, 2009 7:46 pm

      Eva, I do love happy accidents. Since these are only digital studies, I have to think about how I’d approach something similar in real life but keep it spontaneous.

  2. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    September 18, 2009 8:43 pm

    Hi Martha,

    These are wonderful! I especially love the first one. I don’t understand the whole technology behind these digital art pieces, but I am sure you will bring them into reality in a wonderful creative manner.

    Thanks for your generosity of time and creativity Martha. You’re one of a kind. What I would give to be your neighbour. 🙂

    Sherrill, Montreal

    • September 20, 2009 6:00 am

      Sherrill, thank you. I guess if we were neighbors neither of us would get anything done! 🙂

  3. September 19, 2009 9:47 am

    Martha,
    Their beautiful! I love the texture! I know what you mean about tools that are used for painting. I can only imagine what not having them anymore is like.
    Alot of my tools are something that most people would just throw away as well. Plastic forks, knives, spoons are some things that I use.I can only imagine what it would be like without them. I also actually keep alot of wrapping etc. that others close to me are going to throw away. Later I add them into paintings!
    Anyway, your work is always wonderful and these are outstanding. Thanks for sharing them with us!
    *HUGS*

    • September 20, 2009 6:01 am

      Thank you Angela! Guess what — I found the box the tools were in yesterday. I am a happy painter!!

  4. September 20, 2009 11:23 am

    Hi Martha,

    I know what you mean about losing things when moving…this last time it was only the vacuum cleaner hose! Don’t know what I’d do if I lost any of my art stuff.

    Fil

    • September 21, 2009 6:22 am

      Fil, I almost cried when I realized there was a whole bunch of my “stuff” missing. Then yesterday I went through everything again and found it in a box in the shed where I have my inventory stored. Whew!

  5. Annette permalink
    September 21, 2009 5:59 pm

    Okay, Martha. I couldn’t stand it. I bought freezer paper — gotta try some paint skins!

  6. September 21, 2009 7:03 pm

    Textures of all kinds often make a piece, in my opinion. Lovely examples.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

