Skip to content

New Paintings

September 14, 2009

Cosmos 3 Sm“Cosmos 3″ – Acrylic and Mixed Media on Panel, 16 x 16 x 2”

This is the third piece in the Cosmos Series. These are shipped and are part of a commission through Michael Murphy Gallery in Tampa.

My next panels may be two 30″ square ones that are ready to paint on. I had three and completed one of them before we had to start packing, so with the move I had to put them way on the back burner. You may remember the first one.

Untitled“Untitled” – Acrylic on Panel – 30 x 30 x 2″

I also have more 8″ squares that will be fun to start work on.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 10:25 am

    Love that texture on Cosmos #3!! Is that some of the paint skins you showed a while back? Very cool!

  2. September 14, 2009 2:00 pm

    Untitled is beautiful.

  3. September 14, 2009 2:09 pm

    I like both of these a lot Martha – the first for its texture and the second for its contrasts. And other reasons…lol.

    Curious. I was participating in an art forum today and learned that one artist creates his paint skins and then runs them through his own printer which uses archival inks. Have you ever done that? With an almost-brand-new printer I’m afraid to try.

    • September 14, 2009 2:39 pm

      Karen, there is a bunch of information about this on the Golden website:

      http://goldenpaints.com/justpaint/jp20article1.php

      You sometimes have to do all kinds of weird things to your printer to make it work on skins, and I’m just not up to doing that. Anyway, I can’t imagine for the life of me why I would want to print onto paint skins.

      Remind me to blog about this. I have some ideas about it.

  4. September 14, 2009 3:12 pm

    Your new studio seems to be very inspiring. Great pictures!

  5. September 14, 2009 3:45 pm

    Thanks Martha….I will look it up. : )

  6. Sandra permalink
    September 14, 2009 6:20 pm

    Love Untitled – wonderful strong composition and great colour contrasts. It is so good to see you producing great new works again. Also loved the photos of your area, I can see that beautiful countryside inspiring you for a long time to come.

    • September 15, 2009 2:11 pm

      Thank you Sandra – I am hoping to make the remaining two 30″ squares fit the theme of the one that’s now “Untitled.” And come up with a title in the process!

      It is beautiful here, and I think part of it is that it’s all right here around us — we don’t have to drive a distance to find it.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

