Skip to content

Things that Inspire

September 12, 2009

Cosmos 5 Sm

“Cosmos 5″ – Acrylic on Panel, 16 x 16 x 2”

The more work that gets done on the studio, the more time I want to spend there. I’m excited to have a new inspiration board in progress. Of course I know these things have to evolve, but I’ve made a start. It’s so nice to have important images always visible, rather than just putting them away in a scrapbook or computer file. I already feel inspired.

Inspiration Board 2

I haven’t painted the walls yet, nor have I gotten rid of the deer border or the fake wainscoat wallpaper. But the deer are nice and I don’t mind seeing them. The open box on the desk contains a whole stack of inspiration pages from magazines. I go through these for inspiration on a regular basis as well. Plus I have handwritten notes on note pads in the same box.

I don’t know about you, but I always have a stack of “things to do” on the corner of my desk and that is my stack for the studio desk. I need to improve that system. At least maybe make it a better looking box.

Paper Doll 2You  might have noticed this paper doll collage on my board. I don’t know what possessed me to make it, although I think it was for a Brava challenge that I never turned in.  It makes me smile.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2009 8:45 pm

    Ohhhh… the lush greenery is remarkeable to see. Living in the high desert of Los Angeles, with the hills brown or burning, it’s very refreshing.

    I’ve been puttering around the house and working on one of my newest abstract pieces. Through your inspiration, I purchased some freezer paper and dabbling in the acrylic on paper applique technique. Thanks for that inspiration.

    I’ve also set a goal to work using clay on canvas tomorrow. I’m always trying to mix mediums in effort to add dimension to my work. I’ll send you a picture of my first completed clay/acrylic piece when completed.

  2. September 13, 2009 2:21 am

    The paper doll’s great – very cheerful. Like you, I have some images on my walls so I see them all the time. I also cut out all kinds of things and glue them into visual diaries along with my own photos. I read these at bedtime and the images drift round my head at night. Okay, so it probably doesn’t help me sleep well, but it does inspire me.

    • September 13, 2009 4:08 am

      Cath, those sleep-deprived times can be the most creative! I guess it’s a good trade.

  3. September 13, 2009 5:50 am

    Love the calligraphic brush strokes and the fine lines that look like drawings from very young children.

  4. September 13, 2009 6:58 am

    I love Cath’s idea of reading through her visuals before bedtime. Some of my best ideas come in my dreams. This is something I will try for myself. Love the paperdoll, you should have shared it with BRAVA!

    • September 13, 2009 9:40 am

      Kim, I agree with you about dream inspirations.

      I probably should have shown my paper doll at Brava, but I was probably several months late with it. Can’t wait to see what you all do with purple and the letter C.

  5. September 13, 2009 10:47 am

    Hello. I like your blog. My studio is currently under remodel and I have a tendency to want all my visuals out as well– I always end up with stacks of torn out pages from magazines and newspapers that I have to then go through– they eventually end up in notebooks which I have to go through– I guess we all try to figure out ways to get our inspiration.

  6. September 13, 2009 11:48 am

    Thank you for visiting and taking the time to comment, Donna. I love your paintings and your wonderful subdued palette. Please stop by again.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

