Skip to content

Organizing the Studio

September 9, 2009

After moving in and setting up my studio, then immediately doing a 10-day painting project, I find myself once again organizing and cleaning. Here are some pictures that I thought you might enjoy, showing how I sort my materials.

Cart

Postal cart that I use to house my paints. I love it because it moves anywhere I want. The top section is stacked with tubs of different categories of paints. The top tub contains my favorite and most-used colors of fluid acrylics.

Paints in small bottles, kept in the top of the postal cart

Paints in small bottles, kept in the top of the postal cart

Tube paints, underneath the tub of paints in small bottles

Tube paints, underneath the tub of paints in small bottles

Paints in big bottles and jars, kept in the bottom of the cart

Paints in big bottles and jars, kept in the bottom of the cart

Tall metal 3-drawer utility cart with a soft drink tray on top

Tall metal 3-drawer utility cart with a soft drink tray on top

Top drawer of metal cart, holding miscellaneous tools such as heavy duty staplers, clamps, tape, laser level, extension cords, etc.

Top drawer of metal cart, holding miscellaneous tools such as heavy duty staplers, clamps, knives, tape, laser level, extension cords, etc.

Metal Cart Drawer 2

Drawer 2, with an assortment of gels, mediums, and glues

Bottom drawer, more mediums and gels

Bottom drawer, more mediums and gels

Soft drink tray filled with oops paints

Soft drink tray filled with oops paints

These are just a few shots of my organization in the studio. I will continue tomorrow with more pictures showing how I’ve sorted stuff.

Hope you’re having a creative week!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 11:42 am

    I just found your blog, and I am just wanting all of that paint for myslef;) Can’t wait for the day I have an actual studio!
    Have a great day and I look forward to visiting again
    Trish

  2. Annette permalink
    September 10, 2009 2:56 pm

    I need a postal cart!

  3. Sandra permalink
    September 10, 2009 6:07 pm

    Great organisation Martha and very interesting to see it. I’ve been doing similar, and all on wheels, as my lounge is also my “studio”, so the stuff has to be moved out very quickly when I have visitors. I reduce my hours next month (phased retirement) so finally will have more time to paint, and garden. Can’t wait!

    • September 16, 2009 5:08 am

      Sandra, I know you must be looking forward to getting more painting and gardening time. That’s going to be so nice!

  4. Annette permalink
    September 11, 2009 5:04 am

    Thanks for the Postal Cart link, Martha. Good to have an idea of dimensions, etc. I will keep an eye out for USED!

  5. September 11, 2009 11:08 am

    The postal cart is oh so cool, but when I couldn’t find one I went to plan B and got a utility cart from Mac Tools (my husband was a distributor at the time) and it’s been a great addition to my studio. Below is the link. It costs more than the postal cart, but it’s also larger and made from a composite material, so no dings or rust (do I sound like a salesperson, or what!). I would look for a used one, I bet there are some out there. Happy hunting!
    http://www.mactools.com/product/tabid/120/p-319324-mb6uc.aspx

    • September 11, 2009 1:26 pm

      Love that one too, Kim! I’m sure there are used ones of both styles out there. They are the kind of thing that if it’s in your way, you gotta get it gone. I know that feeling, during my recent move!!

  6. September 15, 2009 1:50 pm

    i love all this organization! wish my workspace looked that orderly! (it’s ok that it doesn’t for now…i’ve been taking a sabbatical. seriously, though, i guess my space is usually FAIRLY organized.)
    it’s great seeing how fellow artists work and organize their spaces. we can all learn from each other in this way.

    • September 16, 2009 5:08 am

      Stephanie, I love looking at other artists’ studios too. It always gives me ideas and inspiration.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

