Skip to content

Goodbye Summer

September 8, 2009

Leaf & Pod 5

Rose Hips

Dried magnolia seed pods, a single splotchy red leaf, dried rose hips left too long on the bush. All signs that summer is ending.

We had a lovely time at a neighborhood Labor Day celebration yesterday, combined with a birthday party for a little boy who just turned one. Patience paid off and his mother ended up with some great pictues of him with chocolate ice cream cake all over his face. It was nice to meet some people and to watch all those kids having a great time in their big above-ground pool and jumping on the trampoline.

One adorable little 2-year-old redhead attached herself to me and kept begging me to take her on the “ponk-ya-leen.” It took a few times for me to translate that into “trampoline.” So I referred her to her daddy, who gave me a look that said “Groan! Not again!”

Kids are great.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 1:00 pm

    Wow – those make great images. Your summer is ending, and coming to use for a visit – yahoo! It’s been a nasty winter here. Isn’t translating 2 year old a mission 🙂

  2. September 8, 2009 1:18 pm

    Cath, I keep telling everyone here how happy I am to have seasons again. They tell me I must be forgetting some of the bad parts. Like ice storms.

    When I’m conversing with a little one, I try very hard to understand or at least pretend I know what they’re saying. But sometimes it’s just a losing proposition. Then there was another one — a 1-year-old — just talking a blue streak in total gibberish. I know he knew exactly what he was saying!

  3. September 8, 2009 2:21 pm

    Just watering the decorative kale planted minutes ago in anticipation of a brighter winter. Here in Oregon we expect an Indian summer. This is the first day of school for one grandchild and tomorrow the younger two start. Eight oil painting services are packed into our motor coach and we are headed to the Oregon Beaches for some misty abstract landscapes. When it is hot inland it is overcast at the coast.

    • September 8, 2009 6:41 pm

      Oh, Diane! That sounds delightful. I am envious of your Oregon beaches and your time painting outdoors. Some day, some day.

  4. Sandra permalink
    September 8, 2009 6:23 pm

    WOW! What absolutely fantastic artworks – these definitely going onto my computer for inspiration. You produce such a wide variety of beautiful and varied paintings, I don’t know how one person has all that creativity. And I feel very privileged that you share your creativity so generously with us all.

    • September 8, 2009 6:42 pm

      Sandra, I am just glad they are inspiring. I paint because I am possessed. I share because . . . well, I don’t know what else I’d do with them.

  5. September 9, 2009 5:41 am

    ponkyaleen. I have to remember that.
    Love the subtle colors!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

