Skip to content

Studio is Back to Normal

September 1, 2009

Ritual 31 Sm

Ritual 31 – Acrylic on Panel,  8 x 8 x 2″

My studio is back to normal, meaning controlled chaos. Or maybe just chaos? I can’t show you a picture because I’ve been working nonstop on my deadline and haven’t had time to take pictures. The piece shown above is one of the references for this new series.

I have three tables in the room. One of them is a work table with various acrylic mediums and textures, and the tools of the trade, including my spatula, mat board squeegees, brushes, and a lot of paint skins.

The second table has room for two panels that I can work on up at waist-high level. I’m using this table to work on the pieces that are coming close to being resolved.

The third table is the one close to the floor, which consists of a bifold door supported by four paint cans. It is covered with eight panels in various stages of completion.

I’m so thankful to have a lot of room, because I’ve utilized every inch of the space to produce these twelve 16″ panels.

I promise to show results as soon as I can take a minute to photograph some of them.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:52 pm

    Love this painting and have it up on my computer. I have a MESSAGE FOR KARIN LYNN – suggest you check out Nancy Reyner’s book Acrylic revolution – very useful book with step by step instructions and materials list for all sorts of different techniques and effects – Amazon have copies very cheap. It might just give you some “how-to” ideas and how to carry them out, it certainly did for me.

    • September 2, 2009 8:32 am

      Thanks for that suggestion, Sandra. I think I’ll take a look at that book on Amazon too. It’s amazing that there are never enough inspiration books and how-to’s. Each one may have just a tiny little gem of an idea that takes you off in a fun direction. Six months later the same book will have another totally different idea to consider.

  2. JD Sunday permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:12 pm

    Yay, Martha…Go For It. I’ve been following your journal for months now, and am always interested in your projects! I just now have tried the paint-skin thing ( still drying..ugh )….thanks for the idea! Maybe when they are dried, I can send you some photos for you to critique.
    Have fun…stay creative! 🙂
    JD Sunday

    • September 2, 2009 8:33 am

      JD, I’d be very interested in seeing your paint skins. Mine have been very helpful and useful as parts of a composition. They do take a long time to dry, don’t they!

  3. September 1, 2009 7:29 pm

    I really like the textures on this piece.

  4. September 2, 2009 2:37 am

    Chaos. Controlled? Maybe not. Successful? Heck yes. You’re on a roll Martha that’s for sure. You know what would be *so* cool? A video of you working. I would just love to see you in action. Seriously.

    • September 2, 2009 8:46 am

      Cath, I promise to do that soon. Today I might have to settle for stills, but that’s on my list to do!

  5. September 2, 2009 6:29 am

    WOW Martha you have been busy! Very beautiful my friend. The colors remind me of the season shortly to come, very nicely done. xoxo

    • September 2, 2009 8:47 am

      Oh Joyce, you have no idea how much I have missed the seasonal changes! I think these colors do have a connection to that.

  6. September 2, 2009 9:38 am

    I love this one. Someday I want to try your paint skin technique. Meanwhile, I’ll just keep admiring all of your lovely work.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

