Skip to content

A Place for Inspiration

August 31, 2009

Echoes 31Echoes 31 – Mixed Media on Canvas, 12 x 12 x 1.5″

While I wait for my new panels to arrive, I’m grabbing every available canvas and applying paint and textures. I think this one is finished.

The sounds here are enchanting. You would have to have been there to appreciate how noisy our last place was, even though it was subliminal for us. We had long since gotten accustomed to it. But now I know how stressful it must have been. Or maybe it was energizing in a way, to hear all that traffic flying by just outside the windows.

Now all I hear this morning are cicadas and a million birds. And it seems that every time I look outside my kitchen window I see one or two hummingbirds at the feeder. They will soon be gone south for a while.

And every weekend we go for a little drive with the dogs to explore the countryside and the beautiful parks.

This is the dogs’ favorite park. It was originally a 70-acre horse farm, partially wooded, and features little lakes, footbridges, boardwalks, pavilions, and hiking trails.

Jim and Dogs at Deibert Park Sm

Everything we need is just five or ten minutes away in one direction, but no traffic to speak of between here and there.

I wonder how all this peace and beauty will manifest in my future art production.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 10:52 am

    Oh the painting is gorgeous!! and I’m glad you’re enjoying your new home, the park is wonderful, too!

    • August 31, 2009 11:57 am

      Thank you, Jane. And yes, the park is a joy to visit — and I didn’t even mention the good exercise!

  2. August 31, 2009 11:43 am

    Looks idyllic. Any possibility of snakes along the path? Brrrrrrr……

    • August 31, 2009 11:59 am

      Karen, I’m sure there are a few around. We stick to the path or the grassy areas for the most part. I don’t like them much and I’m sure the feeling is mutual.

  3. August 31, 2009 11:45 am

    How lucky you are to live in such a beautiful and quiet place! — Love this painting.

    • August 31, 2009 12:00 pm

      Eva, I feel very blessed. Maybe now I can really concentrate on creating in a stress-free environment. Glad you like this painting. It was one of those “aha” ones.

  4. Sandra permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:17 pm

    Love the colours in this painting, and so happy for you that you are in such an idyllic place. I believe constant noise is actually bad for one’s health, so I am sure you will benefit from your more peaceful surroundings. It will be very interesting to see how this shows up in your art.

    • September 1, 2009 2:28 am

      Thank you, Sandra. You know, you’re right about the adverse health effects of noise. My husband has been watching his BP for about the past six months, as it had gone up alarmingly. He didn’t want to go on meds yet. But now since we’ve been here, it’s down in the safe range again without doing anything else!! I have to believe it’s the move (and the relief of the stress over just getting it all to work out.)

  5. August 31, 2009 6:39 pm

    Martha,

    This is a beautiful painting. How great is it that you are already creating in your new studio. Wishing you all good things in your “new place.”

    Robin

  6. Karin Lynn permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:52 pm

    Each evening I check in with “the artist’s journal ” and I feel I am getting to know everyone. I read all the comments and when the the artists have a website I spend a few minutes enjoying myself. As I have said before, this painting thing is only a year old for me and I struggle along, trying to figure out products and techniques of my own…..Question, what does one use to produce “gesture lines”…..I,ve tried markers(don’t like the kind of lines they produce), an oil stick(but that doesn’t dry quickly), pencil crayons (doesn’t show up)……could you share what you use??? Also , do you mix up paint glazes and keep them in separate little jars with lids?….. You build up layers correct?? I try to do this but always end up covering up the damn former layer?…..I don’t know when to quit!!!. I dream of the day, when I could be a “fly on the wall and watch your process of making art……it’s really hard to figure out process…..I know I should relax,relax,relax and not worry about what I produce but I,m a little anal and desire knowledge(I,m also insecure and judge my results……I know who doesn’t. …….anyway ,I as usual ,enjoy your work and aspire to have a teeny,tiny bit of your talent rub off on me. Apart from your art it is fun to “see” a little bit of your life in your new home. I have never been to your part of the country but it looks beautiful. This winter we are heading off to Estero Beach to get away from the Canadian snow and we look forward to that……Thanks again for any tidbit of advice. Karin Lynn ,Oakville,On. Canada

    • September 1, 2009 2:43 am

      Karin Lynn, it’s so nice that you are clicking links. That can be very inspiring. Let me see if I can answer some of your questions.

      Gesture lines: I use pencil, pastel, chalk, or charcoal. The three latter ones can be made permanent by spraying or lightly brushing with clear acrylic. I also use a very thin, worn-out, short-bristled brush to make lines with very wet paint. Not precise lines, but instead very lightly applied and random. And the final thing I sometimes use is craft paints in squeeze tubes.

      Glazes and layers: I’m very un-methodical about that. I don’t mix up anything ahead of time — I just thin some paint with clear acrylic in a plastic cup or plate and have at it. My layers are almost never solidly painted, but have very thin areas and openings in them so you can see what’s underneath. (But sometimes I do cover up parts of what’s already there, especially if I don’t like that part.)

      I encourage you to watch as many painting demo videos as you can find. There are wonderful books for technique as well.

      I’m a person who needs to be shown. If I’m looking at a book that describes techniques, I read it several times before it clicks for me. I do better by going to classes or workshops. I hope you will think about doing that too.

      Enjoy your beach getaway. It sounds so beautiful there.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

