Skip to content

Wet Paint

August 28, 2009

Wet paint in the studio today.

I’ve smeared paint over all available surfaces and am now waiting for things to dry.

These are paint skins but they may end up in paintings in whole or in part.

Wet Paint 1 Sm

“Wet Paint I” – Acrylic Paint Skins, 18 x 24″


Wet Paint 2 Sm

“Wet Paint II” – Acrylic Paint Skins, 18 x 24″

I will be working all weekend getting a lot of paint skins ready to incorporate into paintings.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 11:02 pm

    These are lovely and I can see you are in full flow and on a roll !

  2. gem13 permalink
    August 29, 2009 12:34 am

    welcome to your new studio space and home ! …

    after the candy series … where have the muted tones come from ? …

    curious and enjoy your process and ways of thinking/being … >>> Gina

    • August 29, 2009 3:47 am

      Well Gina, the candy series isn’t gone away. It was done for a specific room in a gallery, and not necessarily as a direction for me. When they sell some I’ll replace them. I look forward to doing more, because they are so much fun to dream up!

      I am in love with earth colors just as much as I am bright ones. In fact, that same gallery has both series of mine — the more subdued colors in the “grownup” rooms of the gallery, and the sugar free series in a room where children wait for their parents to browse. For me, it’s nice to switch gears between the two.

  3. August 29, 2009 5:11 am

    these are so pleasing. they even look as though they could be finished paintings themselves. i have first and foremost considered myself an oil painter, but have been doing a series of acrylic monochromes on panel for a while. i very much appreciate your sharing of technique and other valuable info with fellow artists. the concept of using paint skins is rather new to me; i may have to give this a try!

    glad to see you’re back in the swing of things, in your new studio…how exciting for you!

    • August 29, 2009 6:36 am

      Glad you like these, Stephanie. I started using paint skins peeled off my plastic palettes a couple of years ago, just using them as textural elements, but liked the surprising color combinations that I could get by putting them in an unlikely environment. I think you’d enjoy doing them.

      My studio is already much more than I’ve ever dreamed I’d have in terms of space. And there are three big windows (plus another one if I open the closet to that one) so lots of light too. It’s too bad the walls are brown and I won’t get to paint them for a while until we’re through doing other things around the rest of the house. I don’t want to let it go for too long, though. Then it will be perfect.

  4. August 29, 2009 5:47 am

    Martha, these are phenomenal.

    • August 29, 2009 6:37 am

      Thanks Mary. I hope to be able to keep them together as much as possible when peeling them off. Today I think I’ll add a nice generous coat of clear gel just to be on the safe side.

      This is so fun and comical in a way. Painting without a surface to paint on!

  5. August 29, 2009 6:43 am

    Fabulous, Martha, I love the colors! I loved the candy colors too, but these are calming and very Zen, a nice start to your new studio. Have Jim take a picture of you working in your new studio, I need to get you working in your old studio out of my head. Happy Creating!

    • August 29, 2009 6:55 am

      Kim, I like things very calming and very Zen. I’ll get a picture when I get the walls painted!

  6. August 29, 2009 8:01 pm

    Martha, Your painting are so beautiful, I do enjoy your page…
    Love and light
    Solange

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

