Skip to content

Freezer Paper, Continued

August 27, 2009

Elements 5, Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2

Elements 5, Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2"

I am so excited about using freezer paper to make paint skins. The next thing I need are a couple of additional tables, because I would love to just tape down enough freezer paper to cover those, and then keep making paint skins and peeling them off, repeating the process again and again.

It takes more than a day for one nice thick layer of paint to dry, but while that’s happening your table isn’t available for other work. So extra tables would be a nice thing to have.

This is a project that I plan to work on throughout tomorrow and the weekend. That should equip me with plenty of interesting paint skins and textures to use in my new series of paintings for the commission.

I am a happy painter once again.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. candiedfabrics permalink
    August 27, 2009 3:09 pm

    Here’s an idea from how Melody used to dye (here’s a link, scroll down to the middle of the page, pics under where it says “Washout” http://www.lazydyer.blogspot.com/ )
    …What if you had 1 tall “metro” shelving unit with lots of shelves, and then some pieces of either foam insulation or plexiglass “platters” cut to fit on the shelves…you could put some texture down on one of the platters using a table, then move the platter to the shelving and use the table for another platter. This way you could have a bunch of textures in various stages of dryness all in the same space as one table!

    hope this makes sense! It makes perfect sense to me! 😉

    • August 27, 2009 3:39 pm

      Candy, I love Melody’s shelves! Plexi bonds to the acrylic, so I would need vinyl sheets, which are available. A very workable plan.

  2. August 27, 2009 5:18 pm

    Another option would be to use Stack-N-Dry Floor drying rack http://tinyurl.com/4vwjel – these go on sale quite often at Jerry’s – or you could use one of their coupons. the freezer paper could be laid on poster board to keep it flat.

    So glad to hear you are getting settled in and MAKING ART! How are the pets doing?
    😀 eirdre

    • August 28, 2009 4:04 am

      Deirdre, an excellent solution. We used these in printmaking classes over the years. I should watch for a deal on those. If I ended up buying several sheets of thick vinyl, the two could work together well.

      The pets are starting to feel this is home, I think. My dogs are quite confused by the fact that there is the occasional loose dog running around the neighborhood, peeing in our yard. The nerve! It’s comical watching them when we go outside, sniffing every blade of grass. We had very strict leash laws in our Florida subdivision.

  3. Sandra permalink
    August 27, 2009 6:10 pm

    You sound so happy to be back creating your lovely art – good luck with the paint skins. Must try that. I had great news at my class wednesday night, the school I go to has come up with a way to subsidise the community ed classes to keep them going, next term and next year! Very happy, as is our lovely tutor. Otherwise they’d have finished for good in another three weeks.

    • August 28, 2009 4:05 am

      Sandra, I’m so happy to hear that your classes have been saved! That is wonderful news.

  4. August 28, 2009 4:07 am

    I saw bakers use racks like the one in Melody’s website.
    New is expensive; but maybe a used one?

    • August 28, 2009 7:18 am

      Eva, I’ve thought of that and will pursue it. Even the drying racks like printmakers use are sometimes available used. Still pricey, but more within the realm of possibility.

  5. August 28, 2009 8:42 am

    Hi Martha,
    “Elements 5” has such power! You’ve got a great idea about using freezer paper to make skins. Do you find you have more control with the size, texture, and color instead of applying the acrylic medium directly to your support?
    I’ve long appreciated and used freezer paper as a palette for acrylic paints, for a place to roll out paint for brayer paintings, and even for re-using selected areas (that have some great accidental colors and design) as a notebook cover.
    Paint On!

    • August 28, 2009 9:36 am

      Thank you, Gina! Yes you are right that there’s more control, while still making it look spontaneous. It’s almost like doing collage — actually a lot like doing collage!

      I don’t know why I didn’t think of freezer paper before. I had it on hand as a way to adhere fabric to it for running through the printer, just as one of my many experiments.

      I can easily see how using that for a palette instead of my plastic plates would give me even more paint skins to play with. More surface area!

      And it’s so cheap!

  6. Annette permalink
    August 28, 2009 9:26 am

    Martha
    check surplus government sales, local schools which have changed their art programs, craig’s list. Who knows? You are doing some awesome paint skins!

    • August 28, 2009 9:37 am

      Thanks Annette! I guess I’ll go on a search for those once I’ve painted these walls. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

