Skip to content

Freezer Paper as a Surface for Paint Skins

August 26, 2009

As promised in yesterday’s post, I wanted to let you know how my paint skin experiment on freezer paper is working. Not all the paint is completely dry yet, but I’ve been able to test a small peel at the edges and can already tell that it is going to come off the surface like a dream.

If I want to store these for future use, I can simply sandwich them between shiny surfaces of freezer paper and even roll them up if I want.

The crackle paste alone is too fragile to survive transfer to another surface. So I’ve poured a thin layer of self-leveling clear gel over that to dry a couple more days. It is settling into the cracks of the crackle paste. Next time I will put down a thin layer of gel first and let that dry overnight, and then add a layer of crackle paste. That will better stabilize the crackle paste.

Crackle PasteCrackle Paste with Layer of Gel

The smears of coarse pumice gel are starting to dry nicely and can be easily peeled, as evidenced by a small thin and well-dried corner of the gel.

Coarse Pumice GelCoarse Pumice Gel

This gives me all kinds of ideas for future use for paint skins. I’m not interested in printing onto them, or transferring images to them. I just want to use them in painting compositions. They add a lot of spontaneity and “oomph” to a surface.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 4:12 pm

    Very cool, Martha. Can’t wait to see one of your compositions using these skins.

  2. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    August 26, 2009 7:05 pm

    Hi Martha, These are looking gooood. I cannot find freezer paper but read somewhere that those silicon cookie sheets (mats) can do the trick. Haven’t tried yet though.

    I have been wondering about parchment paper, but somehow doubt it because of the tooth it has. But I will give a small sample a whirl. I have had success with those palette pads. One side of each sheet is shiny and works well. But, these are too small to get fast and loose with. Haha.

    • August 26, 2009 8:12 pm

      Sherrill, I have discovered the backing that I peeled off my contact paper for the cabinets is something that should work. I saved all of that and am going to try it too.

      The silicon cookie mats should also work!

  3. August 27, 2009 4:32 am

    I’ve used the lightweight flexible plastic cutting boards and they worked pretty well. I also save all my used palette pads, and even collected the palette papers from other students in a class I took this summer. They are small for loose and free pouring however.

    Martha, thank you once again for so many wonderful ideas!

    • August 27, 2009 6:21 am

      Jackie, I think I’ll also get some of the cutting boards. They’re nice in that they are more rigid for moving the skins from place to place. Glad you’re enjoying the crazy experiments.

  4. August 27, 2009 2:59 pm

    Just wondering Martha….is there any reason not to use that old-fashioned ‘regular’ waxed paper in a reasonably heavy weight?

    • August 29, 2009 3:43 am

      Nope Karen – It would work, but doesn’t come in rolls as wide as freezer paper rolls (as far as I know.)

  5. Jan permalink
    September 5, 2009 6:03 pm

    I use glass plates to make my skins…. they peel off easily.

    • September 6, 2009 3:06 am

      Yes, glass is great too. However, I’m really enjoying being able to tape the freezer paper down to the table and then remove it when all the skins are made and rolled for storage — either in waxed paper or more freezer paper.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

